Chip - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Shelby | ROUSH | Boss | Saleen | SVT || Tech and Talk > SVT Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-23-2011, 10:11 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
McNassty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 600
Chip

Have a '95 Cobra SVT my question is where would my chip be if I had one? I have the Chilton to my car but it's pretty much useless besides the basics and specs
McNassty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-23-2011, 10:45 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
deadsp0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MidWorld
Region: Other
Posts: 4,786
Behind the kick panel on the passenger side. Pull the pin and cover, unplug 3 wiring harnesses and remove two bolts that hold the support. You'll see the ECU. It's tough to get out so take your time. Chip goes in the top(hidden untill removed)
__________________
That's unimpressive
deadsp0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:26 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
McNassty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 600
I don't seem to have a kick panel, they're is just a space with a lot of wiring harnesses
McNassty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-23-2011, 09:10 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
deadsp0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MidWorld
Region: Other
Posts: 4,786
Where your right foot would be while sitting in the passenger seat, that piece of plastic trim is the kick panel. There are three harnesses behind it. Behind that is a black metal strap that holds the ECU in place. It can be a pain to get the ECU out. If the panel is gone its Likely someone's been in there the pin is ez to mess up. There are also plastic pins holding the three harnesses to the strap. They are ez to mess up too
__________________
That's unimpressive
deadsp0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 08:41 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
rinfield2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hopkinsville, Ky.
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 397
Re: Chip

why do you need the chip? why would you want to replace the chip? if you're looking to do something along those lines.....I'd encourage you to look into handhelds (ie-SCT/diablo). Far better, far better user friendly, more tunable, more versatile, better bang for the buck, the list of reasons go on.

anywho, choose wisely my good sir.
rinfield2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:04 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
deadsp0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MidWorld
Region: Other
Posts: 4,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by rinfield2004
why do you need the chip? why would you want to replace the chip? if you're looking to do something along those lines.....I'd encourage you to look into handhelds (ie-SCT/diablo). Far better, far better user friendly, more tunable, more versatile, better bang for the buck, the list of reasons go on.

anywho, choose wisely my good sir.
All the hand held tuners are 96+. They use the of
OBD plug..
__________________
That's unimpressive
deadsp0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 01:51 PM   #7
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 7
Exactly.
jonb347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:41 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
McNassty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 600
I'm actually just wanting to see if I still have my factory chip and to check it's connections to make sure they're clean and seated tightly. In second gear when I get on it it seems to have a slight miss and I've already checked fuel filter and fuel pump

---------- Post added at 02:39 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:37 AM ----------

And I can't get a hand held tuner for '95 only chips, '96 and up is when they started being able to use them.

---------- Post added at 02:41 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:39 AM ----------

And thanks Deadspot found it quickly. If I take a pic of it does anyone know the difference between factory and aftermarket?
McNassty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 10:01 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by McNassty
I'm actually just wanting to see if I still have my factory chip and to check it's connections to make sure they're clean and seated tightly. In second gear when I get on it it seems to have a slight miss and I've already checked fuel filter and fuel pump

---------- Post added at 02:39 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:37 AM ----------

And I can't get a hand held tuner for '95 only chips, '96 and up is when they started being able to use them.

---------- Post added at 02:41 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:39 AM ----------

And thanks Deadspot found it quickly. If I take a pic of it does anyone know the difference between factory and aftermarket?
No factory chip, unless you mean your ecu.
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 09:49 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
deadsp0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MidWorld
Region: Other
Posts: 4,786
There is no factory chip, just a rubber plug in the top. If there's any thing other then that it's aftermarket...
__________________
That's unimpressive
deadsp0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 08:20 AM   #11
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 126
Factory cars don't have chip, but if u want to gain some HP, and made you run better buy SCT eliminator with custom tune on 93 octane and u car gone to run really nice,

---------- Post added at 09:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:08 AM ----------

Recommendation, before you can play with u ECU, disconnect the battery + terminal, because u can fry u computer, and went u got the Chip take the computer out, opened, and clean pretty good we're the chip it gone to be plugging because it come with some glue to protect the connect for dost ext, and if u put it like it is, no gone to be a good contact,and the connector from the ship it gone to really Dirty and hard to cleaning.
2003CobraSvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Shelby | ROUSH | Boss | Saleen | SVT || Tech and Talk > SVT Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The g force chip scam Blackedout The Bar 8 09-20-2011 12:33 PM
Performance Chip cks0925 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 9 09-13-2011 10:00 PM
Best chip? Hawk 1979-1995 Mustang GT 2 09-01-2011 08:15 AM
96 SVT Cobra Tuner Chip ECM questions ? Spiney SVT Mustang 0 08-05-2011 01:43 AM
Performance Chip Installed? Badassnut84 2005-2010 Mustang GT 9 07-23-2011 05:29 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:32 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.