97 Cobra with issues at higher rpm's - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Shelby | ROUSH | Boss | Saleen | SVT || Tech and Talk > SVT Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-27-2013, 04:35 PM   #1

Region: Missouri
Question 97 Cobra with issues at higher rpm's

Hey guys, This is my first time posting, I was directed here by a fellow mustang friend. I'm hoping I can get some help/advice.
I have a 97 Cobra that has a stumble/hesitation on the top end. It runs pretty good up until ~5,500+ rpms, and it just seems to stop pulling, rpm's don't want to climb, and the motor sounds significantly different. It doesn't always happen, but probably 80% of the time it does at full throttle. If it's not full throttle, then it seems to go to redline without problem.
I have changed spark plugs, o2 sensors, MAF sensor, checked coils/wire with an adjustable spark gap tester, vacuum test, and did a compression test which a cheap parts store gauge (1 at 185, a few around 195-200, and a couple around 205-210, I can check my sheet to be sure if you want) and I've removed the IMRC's and cleaned them twice! (was throwing p1519 code for a while, not anymore, and didn't notice a change in performance before or after) the only code I am throwing now is p1414 which I think is "Secondary Air Injection System Monitor circuit High Voltage", I believe this is due to the secondary air injection system not being hooked up, but I wouldn't image it would have this kind of effect on the car.