Shifting - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Shelby | ROUSH | Boss | Saleen | SVT || Tech and Talk > SVT Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-26-2014, 08:23 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Utah
Shifting

Hey guys,
So I've been driving the cobra for a few days now and it's my first time with a manual. I've gotten pretty decent at shifting, but I can't really shift fast. Anyone have some pointers? When I shift I put the clutch to the floor and completely let off the gas.

I must say however, I do have a newfound respect for giving other drivers room at a stop. Nothing is more irritating in a manual when cars get right up on you especially on a hill. I'm working on perfecting where the friction point is, but like earlier today I revved up a bit more and let out the clutch a bit faster to prevent me from rolling back and burned like 5 ft of rubber. (Oops)
Jlp06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-26-2014, 09:42 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Alabama
I think muscle memory and experience with the car will yield the shifting speed you want. Just find that sweet spot and try to hit it every time. I'm jealous that you get to drive a manual cobra I was close to trading mine for a 99.
LukeRailey68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 04:49 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Thanks for the response. It is fun lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-27-2014, 09:24 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Earlier when I was driving the cobra it was cold and the engine hadn't warmed up yet. I was going easy but the tranny didn't want to shift into 2nd. It was really weird just kept going "Zzzzz zzz"
Old 04-01-2014, 06:34 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

Synchro probably getting bad. It takes lots of driving to master your car.
royalpurple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 06:46 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
Quote: