Mustang Evolution Forum banner

Painting a 'Stang

2K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  cruisin99coupe 
#1 ·
:shrug: I am new to Mustang, cars in general, etc. But I SOON will have a '99-'04 Mustang V6 (hopefully V8). Once I buy it of course I want to paint it. Probably a shiny candy, glossy metallic type paint lol. Im still deciding on the color. Maybe a dark blue, then buy white stripes. Or maybe red with white stripes. But yeah im still deciding on that, maybe even a real nice grey.

But you know, my main concern is not necessarily price but its the quality of what im paying for. BUT i am thinking about doing it myself. I just want to know an estimate, DIY vs. A Paint store. I live in Detroit, MI btw.
Im not asking for a exact estimate or price I just want to sort of know an ballpark that I should be expecting when getting it painted. I want to know what I would need to do it myself. And where could I do it. Can you list ALL the things I will need to do it myself though. Or should I just buy the supplies and like prep. the car and take it to the pro's. Also can you tell me what I could do to prep it, would I like have to sand down the paint already on my car ?

#2 ·
IMO and this us just me but my stang had it's paint job done at maaco. I think 300$ wAs the price. Maybe less. They do stripes to. Just extra. With a working guys schedule like mine and allot of other people on here it would just be easier Doing it that way. I'm not to knowledgeable when it comes to DIY's. Just allot of work from what my buddies tell me

#3 ·
its VERY hard and costly to change the color of a car AND do it correctly, it might be best to choose a color that's base will be best to go with the new color you want as well~