How to properly wax a car? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Paint, Appearance & Detailing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-30-2014, 01:13 PM   #1

Region: Texas
How to properly wax a car?

Hi everyone, I have a question about waxing a car.

I bought a new mustang about a month ago, and this is my first time ever waxing a car. I want to keep it in great shape, and I have done a bit of research on proper exterior maintenance...but it seems like I am getting mixed advice, so I would like to get advice in one place from one source to make sure I do a good job.

So far I read that first you need to wash the car very very well with a car shampoo to get rid of any dirt or debris.

Now the next part is where I get confused...I have heard mixed advice in prepping for the wax. I have heard to polish it first then wax. I have heard you need to use a clay bar to rid the car from hidden dirt. Last I have heard that just a simple good wash then wax is more than enough.

I would like some proper input from ya'll on the matter for clarity.

So far I have purchased a bunch of microfiber cloths, Maguires car shampoo, microfiber mitt, and Maguires Ultimate wax.

What else do I need (I will worry about tires later since they are still pretty clean.)
centrifugal 4ce is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-30-2014, 01:24 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Illinois
If the car is brand new, i wouldn't worry about polishing it, as much as getting a good wash, then touchless dry.

What i do is put down a glaze. Then maybe a sealant. Then a wax. But the glaze is just for a deep wet look. It's not needed. Nor is the sealant, really. But that really helps with paint protection.