New to the World of DA Polishers - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Paint, Appearance & Detailing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-11-2014, 12:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Illinois
New to the World of DA Polishers

As the title states, I'm a noob to DA polishers. My paint has started to show its age with fine scratches, and light swirls. So I decided to take action.

Today I purchased a Griots DA polisher, orange and black hexlogic pads, chemical guys V36 polish, along with a fresh clay bar. I want this car looking spiffy when i get through with it. I do have a few questions though.

The v36 is good for one step polishing. HOWEVER. I have seen videos where there has been some slight maring/hazing from the v36. Should this happen, would switching to v36 on the black finishing pad buff out the hazing or would that not make much of a difference? I've also got a bunch of Meguires ultimate polish lying around. From those who've used v36, is the Meguires polish more aggressive? Or less abrasive than the v36? I'd like to do my best to cut through the swirls, but try to avoid the hazy unfinished look.

Any tips/tricks/Secrets of a DA are appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-11-2014, 01:07 AM   #2
Loc: Austin,TX
Regular
Supporter

Region: Texas
Some pic of the car would be nice.
DDTCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 05:07 AM   #3
ME Bloodhound
Staff

Region: California
I use Meguiars polish and it's ok. It's a pretty fine cut since i noticed it doesn't take out 100% of the swirls. I haven't used the V36 yet. When I'm out of my current compound and polish I'll probably get the entire V line from CGs

Bullitts are better than Bullets

Bullitt build paused pending graduation

HID end all thread