fuse 47 pull - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang DIY and Technical



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-12-2014, 06:52 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
mikeygaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 556
fuse 47 pull

Ok guys I needed to get on here and share this piece of information for the people who don't know or are experiencing similar frustrations. I have been having throttle and shift problems in my automatic for a while now and it was reallyyy starting to take the fun out of my car. Let me explain.. I would tune my car, it would run amazing (immediate throttle response, fast shifts) for a couple days then it would start losing performance as time went on. (Somebody else even made a thread a couple weeks ago with the same peoblem). This was to the point where the car felt like it was running like ****. Then I would re tune and all was well again. It was a vicious cycle.

I came across a thread on another forum where people had the same problem. When the car started to feel sluggish they were pulling the #47 fuse in the engine fuse box for about 10 minutes then plugging it in and the car would run great, so I decided to give it a try. Let me tell you, the car was an absolute beast after I did this. I was so happy. Now I know it's just replacing re tuning with pulling a fuse but it's so much more convenient and seems to work better. Anybody have any experience with this? I've read of people who swear by it.
__________________
2016 GT- Lund tune, jlt intake, mbrp catback.
2014 3.7 - SOLD
mikeygaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2014, 07:45 PM   #2
Abominable Mustang

Regular
Staff
 
WhoDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Anchorage
Region: Alaska
Posts: 1,925
Yeah fuse 47 is one of your PCM power fuses. I'm willing to bet it's the one that provides a trickle charge to your PCM so that it doesn't lose the data it uses to adapt to your driving. Pulling that interrupts the power, thus resetting the car's adaptive driving. I thought that tunes disabled this, but that may not be true.

Sent from the future.
__________________
2012 Kona Blue 3.7L V6:
Borla LT headers, O/R h-pipe, Borla S-types, 3.73 gears,
Steeda adjustable UCA w/ mount, BMR LCAs, Airaid CAI,
LCA Relocation brackets, AE driveshaft, GT 80mm TB,
Black 18x9/10 2010 GT500 Wheels w/ Nitto NT555s,
Eibach Sportline Springs/shocks & Koni STR.T Struts
WhoDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 07:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
mikeygaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 556
Yea its my dd so I usually sit in traffic every morning which is probably screwing with the adaptive shifting. I've read that tunes do not disable it. Im going to give mpt a call in the am to verify this. It's extremely annoying.
__________________
2016 GT- Lund tune, jlt intake, mbrp catback.
2014 3.7 - SOLD
mikeygaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2014, 10:52 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
ironsurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Norman
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 332
If your car is tuned and you pull that fuse, do you have to reload the tune after putting the fuse back?
__________________
Stark 30 huper optik tint, jlt oil separator, mmd window louvers, airaid cold air intake.
ironsurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 11:02 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
mikeygaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 556
Nope the tune stays loaded. It only resets the adaptive shifting.
__________________
2016 GT- Lund tune, jlt intake, mbrp catback.
2014 3.7 - SOLD
mikeygaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 11:03 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
ironsurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Norman
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 332
Ok cool!
__________________
Stark 30 huper optik tint, jlt oil separator, mmd window louvers, airaid cold air intake.
ironsurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 12:00 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Duncan, Ok
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 93
I believe if you have an Sct tuner you can go about resetting it with that instead of unplugging it each time. Don't quote me on that though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Colby2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 07:43 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
08Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 2,401
Is this the same for the 4.0 computer?
08Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:00 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
mikeygaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 556
Not sure. I don't know if the 4 liters have the adaptive shifting.
__________________
2016 GT- Lund tune, jlt intake, mbrp catback.
2014 3.7 - SOLD
mikeygaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:04 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
08Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 2,401
Neither do I. It just feels like my car doesn't have quite the throttle response and shift firmness that it did when I first tuned it. However that could just be me being used to it now
08Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 06:43 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
smurf stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,341
I would call your tuner and see if they could disable that.
__________________
2016 VW GTI 2.0 Turbo

1989 Sonic Blue LX Coupe, 349 ci, TW heads, TFS Track Heat Intake, 75mm Accufab TB, 80mm ProM, 30 lb. inj, TKO, 3.73, 31 spline w/ TruTrac, MAC 1-5/8" LT headers w/ H pipe, Flowmaster, electric fan Moates QH
391 rwhp & 424 rwtq...Mustang Dyno 11.5@122mph
smurf stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:15 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
bazinga11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Burbs
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08Mustang View Post
Neither do I. It just feels like my car doesn't have quite the throttle response and shift firmness that it did when I first tuned it. However that could just be me being used to it now
Fuse 47/big glassy fuse on far left handside corner is your answer to that lost throttle response. Heck my stock tune feels like a custom tune once I reset this relearning thing.

Oh and mine is a manual tranny!

|| BlackOnBlack ||
bazinga11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 11:15 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Gdocumet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 51
Would one have to repeat this reset between time intervals or is it a one time thing?
Gdocumet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 11:17 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
ironsurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Norman
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 332
Time intervals. When the car starts to feel like crap you just do it again. Usually every 2 or 3 weeks
__________________
Stark 30 huper optik tint, jlt oil separator, mmd window louvers, airaid cold air intake.
ironsurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 09:10 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
somedopebeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto, canada
Region: Canada
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdocumet View Post
Would one have to repeat this reset between time intervals or is it a one time thing?

Bucko explained this in another thread, theres a way to make it reset itself when you start the car up i believe.
somedopebeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 09:35 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sterlingbeast5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Naples, FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,654
I have never noticed the drop but it sounds like this is only a thing for automatics correct?
__________________
Brembo Pkg, Paxton SC, ID1000's, JMS BAP, Boss IM, JLT CAI, Lund Tuned, Tremec T56 swap, Black Pype Bombs, Pypes LT Headers H-Pipe, McLeod RXT Twin Clutch & LW Flywheel. Alum. DS, MGW Shifter, BMR adj. Panhard, UCA & LCA's, Eibach Pro Damper, Sportline Springs, MMD Louvers, Roush splitters, RTR decklid and surround, CDC Grille, Staggered 20" ACE Alloy Driven, Trufiber Hood.
Sterlingbeast5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 09:58 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
ironsurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Norman
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 332
There's a wiring mod you can do that everytime you start the car it will reset
__________________
Stark 30 huper optik tint, jlt oil separator, mmd window louvers, airaid cold air intake.
ironsurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 10:11 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
somedopebeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto, canada
Region: Canada
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironsurvivor View Post
There's a wiring mod you can do that everytime you start the car it will reset

Yup.

Help!!!! Bogging issue!

OP, pm bucko. Hes great, he'll help ya out
somedopebeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 02:23 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jaylg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Harlingen
Region: Texas
Posts: 428
Can anyone clarify if you really have to pull fuse 47 even if you have a custom tune? I though the tune would suffice to take care of all these issues
Jaylg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 02:40 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
bazinga11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Burbs
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaylg86 View Post
Can anyone clarify if you really have to pull fuse 47 even if you have a custom tune? I though the tune would suffice to take care of all these issues
If you're car is not as responsive as it was before when you loaded your custom tune, then yes you gotta pull your fuse 47.

- both auto and manual transmission.

|| BlackOnBlack ||
bazinga11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 02:42 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
smurf stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaylg86 View Post
Can anyone clarify if you really have to pull fuse 47 even if you have a custom tune? I though the tune would suffice to take care of all these issues
Best way to know for sure is to call or write your tuner and ask him if he has disabled your adaptive shifting in the autos.
__________________
2016 VW GTI 2.0 Turbo

1989 Sonic Blue LX Coupe, 349 ci, TW heads, TFS Track Heat Intake, 75mm Accufab TB, 80mm ProM, 30 lb. inj, TKO, 3.73, 31 spline w/ TruTrac, MAC 1-5/8" LT headers w/ H pipe, Flowmaster, electric fan Moates QH
391 rwhp & 424 rwtq...Mustang Dyno 11.5@122mph
smurf stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 05:24 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
mikeygaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 556
I'm not sure if they can disable it. I have tunes from both bama and mpt and this happens using both. I haven't had time to call either to ask as I've been really sick the last couple days.
__________________
2016 GT- Lund tune, jlt intake, mbrp catback.
2014 3.7 - SOLD
mikeygaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 06:32 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jaylg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Harlingen
Region: Texas
Posts: 428
I'm going to call bama so I'll keep you guys posted if I find out..
Jaylg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 09:20 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
smurf stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,341
Just send them an email.
__________________
2016 VW GTI 2.0 Turbo

1989 Sonic Blue LX Coupe, 349 ci, TW heads, TFS Track Heat Intake, 75mm Accufab TB, 80mm ProM, 30 lb. inj, TKO, 3.73, 31 spline w/ TruTrac, MAC 1-5/8" LT headers w/ H pipe, Flowmaster, electric fan Moates QH
391 rwhp & 424 rwtq...Mustang Dyno 11.5@122mph
smurf stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 11:36 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
2011 Kona Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 7,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeygaga View Post
Nope the tune stays loaded. It only resets the adaptive shifting.
Just curious! Do all the year models have this adaptive shifting crap? I ask because I have been running performance tunes in my 2011 3.7 for approximately 3 1/2 years and never have I had a lack of power. Not once have I lost my awesome throttle response. So it makes me wonder, do the 2011-12 models have adaptive shifting or is that something new for 2013-14 models?

Sent from my little Johnson.
2011 Kona Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 11:41 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Midnight2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: So Cal
Region: California
Posts: 790
Yes we all have adaptive learning in the automatics.
Midnight2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 07:05 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
2011 Kona Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 7,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnight2012 View Post
Yes we all have adaptive learning in the automatics.
Hummmmm. I wonder why I'm not experiences this issue as well. Also what is the solution to this fuse 47 business for a permanent fix? The tunning companies can't turn off the adaptive shifting feature

Sent from my little Johnson.
2011 Kona Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 08:02 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sterlingbeast5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Naples, FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,654
Just kind of a shout out. Has anyone asked Dan or anyone from AM to chime in about this?
__________________
Brembo Pkg, Paxton SC, ID1000's, JMS BAP, Boss IM, JLT CAI, Lund Tuned, Tremec T56 swap, Black Pype Bombs, Pypes LT Headers H-Pipe, McLeod RXT Twin Clutch & LW Flywheel. Alum. DS, MGW Shifter, BMR adj. Panhard, UCA & LCA's, Eibach Pro Damper, Sportline Springs, MMD Louvers, Roush splitters, RTR decklid and surround, CDC Grille, Staggered 20" ACE Alloy Driven, Trufiber Hood.
Sterlingbeast5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 09:46 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
smurf stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,341
Yes we need to hear from the tuners AM, MPT, Lund, Steeda if the adaptive shifting can be turned off.
__________________
2016 VW GTI 2.0 Turbo

1989 Sonic Blue LX Coupe, 349 ci, TW heads, TFS Track Heat Intake, 75mm Accufab TB, 80mm ProM, 30 lb. inj, TKO, 3.73, 31 spline w/ TruTrac, MAC 1-5/8" LT headers w/ H pipe, Flowmaster, electric fan Moates QH
391 rwhp & 424 rwtq...Mustang Dyno 11.5@122mph
smurf stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 11:20 AM   #30
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
At least with an MPT tune, I have no issues with my automatic and it's shift points. What happens is that your Mustang "learns" your shift points...so if you do drive stop and go in the city for a week, then go out to the highway, your automatic transmission shift points will seem somewhat sluggish. Pulling fuse 47 will clear these, and all is well....for awhile, until the learned shift points are once again stored.

i believe my MPT tune killed this, as my shift points seem to be the same, be it with city driving or highway driving.

If you do not have a tune, there is a wiring mod that can be done that kills power on fuse 47 everytime you shut off/start the car, so it's like removing it to clear the memory.
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 11:33 AM   #31
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
MustangDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Forest
Region: California
Posts: 726
There's another thread that's discussing this:
Car relearn and bama tuner question.

But it appears to be more related to the 2013-14 V6 than the 2011-12 V6 models. I agree that it would be nice if AM & Bama got involved on this issue on this forum. I can't figure out why they won't step up
__________________
2013 V6 Auto Premium | Sterling Gray | Pony/Comfort/Security Packages
Borla S-Type AB, Airaid CAI, SR Performance STB, JLT Oil Separator, MPT Tuned, MMD Classic Louvers, Roush Upper & Lower Grilles, BFGoodrich G-Force Sport Comp-2 A/S Tires, Koni STR.T Shocks & Struts, SR Performance Lowering Springs, J&M Stainless Steel Teflon Brake Lines, BMR LCAs w/Brackets, BMR Panhard Rod Support, Whiteline Adj. Panhard Bar, Ford Racing Differential Finned Cover Plate, Philips X-tremeVision LED Fog Lamps, JMS PedalMax
MustangDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 02:25 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
David Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Clinton
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazinga11 View Post
Fuse 47/big glassy fuse on far left handside corner is your answer to that lost throttle response. Heck my stock tune feels like a custom tune once I reset this relearning thing.

Oh and mine is a manual tranny!

|| BlackOnBlack ||

My fuse 47 on my 2011 automatic is a small 15 amp fuse in the middle of 5 other small fuses. On the left side but almost in the middle of the box.
__________________
Little Red. 2011 V6. Automatic Trans., C&L CAI, JLT Catch Can, BBK Ceramic Coated Long Tube Headers with BBK Catted X Pipe, Axle Exchange (American Muscle) Aluminum DriveShaft, GT 500 Lower Control Arms, Koni (orange) Dampers, Steeda Watts Link, Ford Racing 3.73 Gears, Magnaflow Street Series Axle Backs and a few more mods....Wifes car, 2014 Ford Edge Limited.
David Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 03:01 PM   #33
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
MustangDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Forest
Region: California
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Young View Post
My fuse 47 on my 2011 automatic is a small 15 amp fuse in the middle of 5 other small fuses. On the left side but almost in the middle of the box.
Yeah, it's the same on my '13 V6 auto. It's the one I've been pulling for 10 minutes every other weekend. No big deal, just curious if it could be overridden when I get a tune. Other than that, I don't have a problem pulling it. I check the fluids and tire pressure every other weekend anyway.
__________________
2013 V6 Auto Premium | Sterling Gray | Pony/Comfort/Security Packages
Borla S-Type AB, Airaid CAI, SR Performance STB, JLT Oil Separator, MPT Tuned, MMD Classic Louvers, Roush Upper & Lower Grilles, BFGoodrich G-Force Sport Comp-2 A/S Tires, Koni STR.T Shocks & Struts, SR Performance Lowering Springs, J&M Stainless Steel Teflon Brake Lines, BMR LCAs w/Brackets, BMR Panhard Rod Support, Whiteline Adj. Panhard Bar, Ford Racing Differential Finned Cover Plate, Philips X-tremeVision LED Fog Lamps, JMS PedalMax
MustangDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 03:26 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
smurf stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,341
Read this.....

Permanent removal of adaptive shifting in your auto V6. - Ford Mustang Forums
__________________
2016 VW GTI 2.0 Turbo

1989 Sonic Blue LX Coupe, 349 ci, TW heads, TFS Track Heat Intake, 75mm Accufab TB, 80mm ProM, 30 lb. inj, TKO, 3.73, 31 spline w/ TruTrac, MAC 1-5/8" LT headers w/ H pipe, Flowmaster, electric fan Moates QH
391 rwhp & 424 rwtq...Mustang Dyno 11.5@122mph
smurf stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 04:12 PM   #35
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
MustangDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Forest
Region: California
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurf stang View Post
Yeah, read that about 9 month ago. I'm more interested in finding out if this can possibly be handled by a tune primarily for the 13-14 V6. Thanks anyway
__________________
2013 V6 Auto Premium | Sterling Gray | Pony/Comfort/Security Packages
Borla S-Type AB, Airaid CAI, SR Performance STB, JLT Oil Separator, MPT Tuned, MMD Classic Louvers, Roush Upper & Lower Grilles, BFGoodrich G-Force Sport Comp-2 A/S Tires, Koni STR.T Shocks & Struts, SR Performance Lowering Springs, J&M Stainless Steel Teflon Brake Lines, BMR LCAs w/Brackets, BMR Panhard Rod Support, Whiteline Adj. Panhard Bar, Ford Racing Differential Finned Cover Plate, Philips X-tremeVision LED Fog Lamps, JMS PedalMax
MustangDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang DIY and Technical

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse/fuse box Iamiguel 2005-2010 V6 Mustang 1 06-15-2012 06:16 PM
Pull up your pants...NOW!!!! PureVenom The Bar 8 06-14-2007 05:07 PM
Whats this tard trying to pull?? SpectorV The Bar 1 11-01-2005 07:38 PM
autozone won't pull my cel code!? candmforever Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 8 12-10-2003 10:19 PM
99 FR350 DYNO pull 99FR350 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 4 10-11-2003 04:09 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



02:38 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.