Getting new mustang, need help. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Mustang Evolution | Community Forums > Mustang 101 - Tech Basics | Ask an Expert

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-19-2015, 08:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Georgia
Getting new mustang, need help.

Alright, so my 2003 mustang is being totaled out due to a hit and run...no need to say I am beyond crushed because I have been building it for a few years. However, I am now looking into a new one. I want a convertible GT and I think I've narrowed it down. My main question is about the manual vs automatic transmission. I love manuals, but I've found an automatic for cheaper (1000 dollars). Both are 2001 GTs with the basic mods (CAI, coils, Exhaust) so how big is the difference in quarter mile times and 0-60s. I know the difference between the V6 models were staggering. How about the GTs?

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Robbymyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-19-2015, 08:41 PM   #2
Registered Member

Regular

Region: Kentucky
You'll have more fun with a manual...

Adventure till you drop
Recon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 08:42 PM   #3
Registered Member

Regular

Region: Washington
Maybe somebody will chime in,but if it is a variant of the 5r55s transmission get a manual
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-19-2015, 08:44 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Yeah, my 2003 was a manual btw, but with it being convertible I figured it might be a decent trade off, especially considering my girlfriend and her friends are begging me to get a convertible. Ugh, I just don't want to dig my own grave for the track especially if I plan on doing serious work (ported, eventually to procharge)

Old 04-19-2015, 09:08 PM   #5
Registered Member

Regular

Getting new mustang, need help.