Windows xp Service pak 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-30-2004, 07:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
00vertstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Region: Ohio
Posts: 31
Windows xp Service pak 2

How many of you all have download and installed service pak 2? I havent yet.
Any real issues afterwards.
I am using a dell laptp with xp professional on it.
00vertstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2004, 07:37 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dark02Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,527
Send a message via AIM to Dark02Pony
i had a few problems with windows after i downloaded the service pack as well as a few of my friends
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...rtandgrill.jpg
Operation: Evolutionization.......Member #3
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonteCitan
Ford Motor Company = FoMoCo..
what does that make Honda Motor Company????
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicole
Mineral Gray is such a hott color. Much better then orange
Dark02Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 07:37 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
i have it... its not to bad just has some stupid firewall crap you have to deal with... like when you play online games you have to tell it to unblock the game and what not.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2004, 07:50 PM   #4
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
72mb download.

I'm letting XP download it in the background bit by bit. I'm at 32% right now. It's been two days.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 08:30 PM   #5
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Running it without any problems

Before you install sp2 make sure you run a good virus scanner and run ad-aware se and spybot search and destroy to get rid of any spyware. You will run into problems if you install sp2 over viruses and spyware
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 09:14 PM   #6
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
yep, it's a huge file. I had to download it 2x, but that was cuz of Dell and their POS HD.

Both times, no problems. But a friend of mine lost everything when he did it. I mean everything, like his house, dog, all his clothes, porn, files, games, everything.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 06:22 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
and make sure you have all your stuff backed up to a CD before performing the upgrade, just in case sumthing should go wrong...always better to be safe!

As long as you do the full upgrade, you shouldnt have any problems, I just did the same upgrade on a pc yesterday at work thats a old dell gx110 PII ( slow *** machines )
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 12:40 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
i did it and had no problems with it.
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 12:41 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dom
72mb download.

I'm letting XP download it in the background bit by bit. I'm at 32% right now. It's been two days.
man i used to have dial up, brent once let me download a antivirus from his server and it took a few hours to download and it was only like 20 mb's
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 04:06 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
if you have dial up you should be banned from the internet thus it would be useless... much like it is now.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 04:28 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
232stang01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to 232stang01 Send a message via Yahoo to 232stang01
I'm installing SP2 now on my server...we'll see what happens...
232stang01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 05:08 PM   #12
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Quote:
if you have dial up you should be banned from the internet thus it would be useless... much like it is now.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 06:34 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
remember windows just adds more code to fix their screw ups... so it keeps growing and growing....
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 08:53 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by 232stang01
I'm installing SP2 now on my server...we'll see what happens...

You have WinXP acting as a Server? They do make Server Software ya know, like Win2003 Server w/ Active Directory components?
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 11:49 AM   #15
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
oaktonarcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Virginia Beach
Region: Virginia
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to oaktonarcher
i had some problems after i installed it, it was painfully slow. Brent can attest to that,just run a good anti virus program and spy ware /ad ware and you should be set.
__________________
Delta Sigma Phi
building better men since 1899


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
You still have a quote in your sig from a guy that hasn't signed in in almost 2 years
www.DeltaArmsCo.com
oaktonarcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 04:48 PM   #16
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
Oh, it worked fine for me. I didn't notice a difference at all except the Firewall and the pop up blocker. It all works fine to me
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 06:42 PM   #17
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seph
Oh, it worked fine for me. I didn't notice a difference at all except the Firewall and the pop up blocker. It all works fine to me
Get rid of Internet Explorer and use Firefox!!! I can't stress that enough, the difference is amazing
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 07:06 PM   #18
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
lol couple of people have been telling me that, I don't see any problems with explorer... I'd have to try it out on someone else's machine to really see a difference :p
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 07:38 PM   #19
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seph
lol couple of people have been telling me that, I don't see any problems with explorer... I'd have to try it out on someone else's machine to really see a difference :p
Problems with explorer:

1) Its part of Windows = Security hole
2) Its made by Microsoft = Security holes out the ***
3) No download manager
4) No tabbed browsing
5) Much slower than Firefox
6) No themes or extenstions can be added to internet explorer
7) Less of a resource hog

Why not change over? You have nothing to lose. Its not like its hard

www.getfirefox.com

download the 5mb file and install

Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs / Add/Remove Windows Components > Uncheck Internet Explorer (and if you use Outlook express that to and then download Thunderbird)

and your set.

Internet Explorer hasnt had a major change since 2001

Yea they aded a pop up blocker.. big deal
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 07:49 PM   #20
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
can it look like how my explorer looks now? It's simple, address bar and everything all at the top and everything compacted nicely
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 08:07 PM   #21
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seph
can it look like how my explorer looks now? It's simple, address bar and everything all at the top and everything compacted nicely
Yes, its very easy to customize

Here is how I have mine set up:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	firefox.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	296.6 KB
ID:	5284  
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 08:32 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
Brent you do know even though you donthave IE or OE checked to be used on your PC, your still open for attacks at will right?

Your only true protection of not being effected by using a Windows OS is to not even turn your PC on.... or sadly to say load the little penguin up and be safe that way!

I dont run linux myself, but if theres a way to get exploited, it will be done!
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 08:38 PM   #23
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by KrazyPony
Brent you do know even though you donthave IE or OE checked to be used on your PC, your still open for attacks at will right?

Your only true protection of not being effected by using a Windows OS is to not even turn your PC on.... or sadly to say load the little penguin up and be safe that way!

I dont run linux myself, but if theres a way to get exploited, it will be done!
You can't be exploited through Internet Explorer if you don't use it. Internet Explorer is a window to the core of your operating system for worms and viruses.

Firefox isnt.

Firefox willnever be as big of a security risk as Internet Explorer is because Firefox isnt built into windows.

Sure windows has security holes out the *** but Linux isnt bullet proof. Linux servers are being exploited all the time.

Its just that Windows owns 95% of the market when it comes to home pcs and thats what people exploit

However Linux will never see the kind of exploits Windows does because it doesnt build its browsers, messengers and email programs into its os

Internet Explorer is old technology.

Anyway moral of story is you basically have to use Windows if you want a easy way to browse the web and play games.

you don't have to use Internet Explorer, Outlook, or Msn messenger however and you can rid yourself of those security holes
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 08:48 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
very well said mistro....
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 08:49 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
232stang01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to 232stang01 Send a message via Yahoo to 232stang01
Quote:
Originally Posted by KrazyPony
You have WinXP acting as a Server? They do make Server Software ya know, like Win2003 Server w/ Active Directory components?

yeah, I know. I'm naturally behind teh curve...
232stang01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 11:15 PM   #26
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
I run SPII. Everything seems to work with it just fine, for me. If you don't want to download it, you can order it totally free on CD from Microsoft.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/d...s/default.mspx
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 06:56 PM   #27
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Brent's setup looks almost exactly like mine, but I have the weather above the tabs and below the navigation arrows.

It's nice to get up and open the internet to figure what to wear.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Brent The Bar 74 10-17-2009 09:06 PM
Windows 7 n8r The Bar 6 02-24-2009 08:13 AM
New Roush 427R Trak Pak JROC General Mustang Discussion 3 09-23-2007 01:36 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:11 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.