****ing wireless (rant) - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-03-2006, 05:15 PM   #1
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
****ing wireless (rant)

So someone around my complex has a wireless router that my computer keeps picking up because it doesnt have any security stuff enabled or anything. It used the same SSID as my wireless network at home, so my computer always tried connecting to it......... until tonight. I got home and my computer was being as gay as AIDS again and connecting to that ****ing network... so I used my computer knowledge and said "oh you guys are ****ed now"

So being that it was a linksys, I connected to their router (had the default login stuff) and changed their internet security so now they have to enter a network key that theyll never know. FINALLY my computer doesnt connect to it anymore, and I couldnt be happier. Sucks for those ****ers.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2006, 05:35 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Linksys routers suck. My Netgear access point won't let you change the settings unless you are plugged straight into the cat-5 port. Doesn't really matter for me, since I don't broadcast my SSID and I've got a 64 character, randomly-generated key. :dunno:
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 05:45 PM   #3
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkuzLS1
Linksys routers suck. My Netgear access point won't let you change the settings unless you are plugged straight into the cat-5 port. Doesn't really matter for me, since I don't broadcast my SSID and I've got a 64 character, randomly-generated key. :dunno:
Yeah I know, Ive got a Dlink and it lets me access it using wireless. Oh well, the only reason my routers in a different room is so I could hook up my xbox to it lol
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2006, 05:54 PM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
slvr2000stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,160
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Linksys is good as long as you are not a dip **** that does not change the defaults.
__________________
Custom Delk motor now DOA
2003 SVT Lightning #1059 of 4270
2000 Vert 4R70W
Only buy from vendors that test and stand behind their products
slvr2000stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 05:55 PM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slvr2000stang
Linksys is good as long as you are not a dip **** that does not change the defaults.
That's probably true.
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 05:58 PM   #6
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slvr2000stang
Linksys is good as long as you are not a dip **** that does not change the defaults.
yeah im assuming these people will never figure it out since they didnt even realize to change the default login info... lol admin/admin FTW!!
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 06:42 PM   #7
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

I got a LinkSys WRT54G but its got far from default settings.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 06:42 PM   #8
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

^^ thats exactly what this one was lol
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 06:43 PM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

theyll prolly think its broken and buy a new one, and 2 days from now youll be like "AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH ****ING DAMMIT!!!!!!!!"
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 06:47 PM   #10
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EclipseGSTdude
theyll prolly think its broken and buy a new one, and 2 days from now youll be like "AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH ****ING DAMMIT!!!!!!!!"
Ill do it again
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 07:05 PM   #11
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Legacy
Regular
 
PureVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 7,212
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Or...you could change the id of your router so that it doesn't match the name of theirs. That would be a smart thing too.

There are about 5 wireless routers in reach of my house at the moment. My computers never try to attach to them because I have named my router uniquely. If I ever decide to ditch the high speed connection, I will at least have 5 other, non secured, sources to piggy back off of.
__________________
"When I know more, I'll be forthcoming. Or I won't be forthcoming, and I'll be honestly deceptive." - Les Miles
PureVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 08:10 PM   #12
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Yeah, haha. why not fix your **** instead of ****ing up other people?

But, nvm, they are retarded.

I snuck into my friends configurations and changed their wireless network from "NETGEAR" to "NIGGA PLEASE"

What's funny is we all live in the ghetto.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 08:35 PM   #13
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
meteorachick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 2,347
Send a message via AIM to meteorachick
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

i hate linksys, my internet never stays on for more than five minutes at a time before i have to reconnect
__________________
In God We Trust. All Others Checked NCIC.

Modified 2004 V6
meteorachick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 08:41 PM   #14
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by meteorachick
i hate linksys, my internet never stays on for more than five minutes at a time before i have to reconnect
I had an old single port Linksys router (not a wireless one or anything, cat-5 in from cable modem, cat-5 out to my switch). By the time it got near the end of it's career, I'd have to power cycle it at least once a day to have internet connectivity.
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 08:48 PM   #15
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

lol



*cough*

maybe I should change the defaults in mine..
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 04:45 AM   #16
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteStang99
I snuck into my friends configurations and changed their wireless network from "NETGEAR" to "NIGGA PLEASE"
lol thats funny as hell.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 09:04 AM   #17
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
slvr2000stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,160
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by meteorachick
i hate linksys, my internet never stays on for more than five minutes at a time before i have to reconnect
Mine is rock solid.
__________________
Custom Delk motor now DOA
2003 SVT Lightning #1059 of 4270
2000 Vert 4R70W
Only buy from vendors that test and stand behind their products
slvr2000stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 09:44 AM   #18
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slvr2000stang
Mine is rock solid.
As is mine. The range is alright. I get a good signal anywhere in my house. Outside I can go to the end of my driveway and still be on the internet.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 10:04 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

I have never had problems with Linksys, I mean **** CISCO now owns them cant be that bad...

Be kinda stupid to have the same name as another near by, just asking for some kinda of intrusion...
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 10:43 AM   #20
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
slvr2000stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,160
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
As is mine. The range is alright. I get a good signal anywhere in my house. Outside I can go to the end of my driveway and still be on the internet.
I can go down the block.
__________________
Custom Delk motor now DOA
2003 SVT Lightning #1059 of 4270
2000 Vert 4R70W
Only buy from vendors that test and stand behind their products
slvr2000stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 10:49 AM   #21
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Its not the same name as mine though, thats the thing. I connect to "ZIM" when im here at school, but my parents back in Iowa still have the default stuff, so it remembers the "linksys" name from being home, and tries to connect to it whenever its available. I just got tired of it haha
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 12:20 PM   #22
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

You can just set your wireless configs so it searches for ZIM before it searches for linksys.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 06:34 PM   #23
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

I know, I did that and it would still change over to linksys
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 06:43 PM   #24
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

well then rape their settings!
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 12:50 AM   #25
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimStang
I know, I did that and it would still change over to linksys
That's Brokeback
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 09:51 AM   #26
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: ****ing wireless (rant)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
That's Brokeback



i love brokeback jokes
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless piggybacking: MarkuzLS1 The Bar 9 05-24-2007 06:36 PM
so I'm using wireless internet.. jimmy_beaner The Bar 17 10-31-2005 07:56 PM
some wireless help jimmy_beaner The Bar 22 08-24-2005 06:33 PM
Who knows wireless networking? Kiljosh The Bar 8 07-28-2005 06:25 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:51 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.