The New computer - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-04-2007, 05:51 PM   #1
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
The New computer

I'm almost done with my new computer setup. I got it up and running right now but some of the parts aren't staying.

Right now it consists of:

AMD Anthlon 64 X2 3800+ AM2 socket
Asus M2N4-SLI (This motherboard blows. Don't recommend it at all. I am thinking about this motherboard: Newegg.com - DFI LANPARTY UT NF590 SLI-M2R/G ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail)
Antec NEO HE 550 SLI Power Supply
BFG 7900GS (This card is awesome. For $189 it will play F.E.A.R. all the way up at 1440x900. Got it running 575/745, stock is 540/660. Using stock cooler for now. This should be here tomorrow: Newegg.com - ZALMAN VF900 – CU 2 Ball VGA Cooler - Retail )
36GB Raptor (It will be replaced with 2 250GB 16MB Cache WD Sata 3gb/s hard drives that I just ordered Will be Raid 0)
320GB WD
Sony 16x DVD Burner
The case is a Lian Li Mid tower. Its a very nice case.

So far the only thing I hate is the motherboard. It won't allow me to over clock at all. It will double my CPU temps if I go from 2.0GHZ to 2.1GHZ. I researched and it seems I am not the only one with these problems. I have one of the best heatsinks out there too so it shouldn't be an issue but it is.

The raptor is one of the first that came out a couple of years ago and is only 8MB cache and has a high pitched whine with it. I dont feel like spending more money on these things as you get very little space for your money and they are loud as hell when accessing data. The raid 0 250GB 16MB should out perform my single one by a long shot and give me more space

I bought a good heatsink but I am going to sell it. The thing is just too massive.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2007, 06:21 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 1,389
Send a message via AIM to dark Send a message via Yahoo to dark
Re: The New computer

sweet
__________________
I don't own a mustang at the moment
dark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 06:50 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
Re: The New computer

This thread is worthless without pics.
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2007, 06:52 PM   #4
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: The New computer

I'll get pics when all the new stuff is in
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 07:01 PM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
Re: The New computer

I should work on getting my computer back in its clothes.
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 07:53 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: The New computer

post up the NSFW images!
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 08:35 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
wiarumas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,738
Send a message via AIM to wiarumas Send a message via MSN to wiarumas
Re: The New computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkuzLS1 View Post
This thread is worthless without pics.
x2

let us see some pics of it when youre finished.

my rig is weak now. i still have a 5900xt in there. my laptop with the x1600 and the duo core processor will be a step better but im going to try to rebuild mine either this summer or after graduation. i havent been upgradin the rig because it doesnt have a pci express slot on the mobo.
__________________

Please visit: TheEchoBoom: Gen Y Blog and Forum
wiarumas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 08:56 PM   #8
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: The New computer

is it the bios that came with the mobo that wont let you oc?

we had mine up to 2.7ghz (from 2.4) at one time, but i turned it back cause it did absolutely no difference in 3Dmark06 (05 ran a bit better) nor any of my games, and thats still using the stock heatsink. thats on a DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR Expert board though.

you gonna go ASUS now?
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 09:00 PM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
Re: The New computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas91169 View Post
you gonna go ASUS now?
It is Asus, dip****.
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 10:37 PM   #10
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: The New computer

lick mah bawls monkey nuts!

__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 11:11 PM   #11
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: The New computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas91169 View Post
is it the bios that came with the mobo that wont let you oc?

we had mine up to 2.7ghz (from 2.4) at one time, but i turned it back cause it did absolutely no difference in 3Dmark06 (05 ran a bit better) nor any of my games, and thats still using the stock heatsink. thats on a DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR Expert board though.

you gonna go ASUS now?
I already flashed the bios to the latest version. After research it is a problem with ALL am2 asus motherboards. So stay away from them. ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Forum-

I will probably choose the DFI (Newegg.com - DFI LANPARTY UT NF590 SLI-M2R/G ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail) just because it seems to be the over clocking motherboard. I was also looking at a MSI (Newegg.com - MSI K9N Diamond ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail) . Both have the lastest and greatest chipset.

BTW forgot the ram. Its using 2GB G.Skill
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 11:30 PM   #12
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Fishers Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Indiana
Posts: 1,507
Send a message via AIM to Fishers Stang
Re: The New computer

looks good Brent. I need to redo mine but the funds are umm not looking good. haha
__________________
Charles
2006 F150 4x4 with the 5.4L V8
Fishers Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 11:42 PM   #13
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: The New computer

oh so you have the Asus now and are going to go the DFI Route? i thought you went DFI in the first place.

btw DFI doesnt like Mushkin or some other brand of ram. G skill might be fine though. Doesnt seem to have a problem with my Kingston either.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 12:15 AM   #14
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: The New computer

It puzzles me why motherboard companies cant make their boards compatible with all the major ram companies.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 08:16 AM   #15
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
Re: The New computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas91169 View Post
oh so you have the Asus now and are going to go the DFI Route? i thought you went DFI in the first place.

btw DFI doesnt like Mushkin or some other brand of ram. G skill might be fine though. Doesnt seem to have a problem with my Kingston either.
My DFI does fine with 2 1-gig sticks of Mushkin.
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 12:24 PM   #16
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: The New computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkuzLS1 View Post
My DFI does fine with 2 1-gig sticks of Mushkin.
thats exactly what i first had, and anytime i tried to put any decent load on the pc it crashed. i then swapped in my old ram from my dell and it ran fine.

What board do you have? is it a DDR2/AM2 socket (older Socket 939 boards only do standard DDR memory)?
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 12:47 PM   #17
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
Re: The New computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas91169 View Post
thats exactly what i first had, and anytime i tried to put any decent load on the pc it crashed. i then swapped in my old ram from my dell and it ran fine.

What board do you have? is it a DDR2/AM2 socket (older Socket 939 boards only do standard DDR memory)?
It's an SLI 939 board. The RAM is PC-4000 DDR, but I'm only running it at 200mhz.
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 03:26 AM   #18
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: The New computer

Well got the new harddrives in

Setup as it is now:

Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit
AMD Anthlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2.0Ghz
Asus M2N4-SLI
BFG 7900GS | 540/660
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 800
(2) 250GB WD Caviar SE16 Raid 0
320GB WD Caviar SE16
Antec NeoPower NeoHE 550
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-1.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	426.9 KB
ID:	15772  
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 04:35 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: New Hampshire
Posts: 386
Send a message via AIM to Smokedya95stang
Re: The New computer

i have the msi diamond plus SLI x16 and it kicks ***, more overclocking options that i know how to use. It has so many ram tweaking settings too, lol.
I got my 4400x2 to 2.7 ghz.
__________________
-Charles
Smokedya95stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 04:36 PM   #20
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: The New computer

I have heard a lot of good about MSI lately... you may have changed my mind and may go with a AM2 MSI board.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 04:39 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: New Hampshire
Posts: 386
Send a message via AIM to Smokedya95stang
Re: The New computer

i bought it when it first came out like 4 or more months ago and its still one of the top rated. I dont have the AM2 Core tho.
hows that fan? Mine is crazy huge and wicked tall.



All i need now is better ram, and a new video card. I still havent bought a pci express one, lol I bought one for like 20 bucks just so i could use the comp. Suprisingly it plays all my games tho!
__________________
-Charles
Smokedya95stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a new computer... bullitt482 The Bar 29 08-31-2007 09:42 AM
Computer 95stang_man Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 1 03-24-2005 11:47 PM
Computer problem....for all you computer gurus.. Rick0636 The Bar 59 02-19-2005 11:42 PM
computer help STEVE The Bar 14 07-21-2004 08:04 AM
Computer Brent Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 3 07-13-2004 08:11 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:38 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.