Down and Disconcerted, words of wisdom? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-09-2010, 10:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Down and Disconcerted, words of wisdom?

Hello. Thanks for reading. I'm having having some trouble with my mare. I am new to riding, (I've been taking lessons for a year and a half) and was "given" (I know there is no such thinh as a "free" horse), a 5 year old Mustang mare. She has been professionally trained under saddle, but her former owners ditched her after letting her get away with murder and wondering why she wasn't "the perfect horse." She is incredibly smart, and too young and healthy to be sent to a Canadian slaughter house, (her destinty if sent to a "sale" in Michigan, so close to the border), I just don't don't know if I have what it takes to make her the horse I know she can be. I have the money and time to care for a horse, but just one. And I am selfish and want a horse that will give me something in return, (short trail rides and trips around the arena.) She does have fundemental training issues though (herd seperation anxiety) that I know I am not qualified to handle, and cannot get help from the "professionals" at the barn I board her at who seem more interested in the financial gain of winning barrel horses than she and I.I know I probably should not have taken her on in the first place, but we have come a long way in our three months together. I just worry that, "once a mustang, always a mustang." I love her and have the time,money, and patience for her, but all the negativity from people at my barn and people in general, about her breed have me a bit down. Can an amatuer rider and horse ever become great together?
osweald is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-09-2010, 11:08 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular