New Shop - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-05-2015, 08:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Missouri
New Shop

Hey all, a buddy and I have been brainstorming ideas to open a car shop. We are wanting to do custom classic car restoration and get into performance work for classics only.

We already have a name and logo, but both of us are complete noobs when it comes to opening a business. Anyone here an entrepreneur or familiar with starting a business?

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

2013 GT/CS
TCopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-05-2015, 10:34 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Wisconsin
Talk to an accountant and attorney. They will make sure you have your ducks in a row. Put an exit plan in place right away. Wish I would have had an exit plan. Very messy when I decided to leave my partnership after 12 years. We missed half our paychecks for an entire year because of people not paying us and my partner and I not agreeing how to handle it. You will probably also no longer be friends when one decides to leave but the other doesn't. Are you willing to lose the friendship?

GrabberMeBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2015, 11:12 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California
I think that Grabbers advice is right on. Partnerships can be tricky and don't always end well.
I was a General Building Contractor for about 25 years, in which I was the sole proprietor. Being in business, can be difficult at times. There are a lot of things that you must do that you do not get compensated for. Your day definitely doesn't end at 5 o'clock! And you never really get rid of your "boss" when you are self-employed. You are just trading one long-term boss for many, many short-term bosses... Your customers!