need pc help - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-08-2004, 04:58 PM   #1
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
need pc help

pc specs

dell dimension 2400
2.6 intel processor w/533mhz front side bus
512mb ram
80gig hd

i have this stupid problem that pisses me off. whenever i dont do something internet related for like a minute, and then i try to use the net, it takes about 30 seconds to a minute for it to do something internet related. i have sbc yahoo dsl.

heres an example. when i start my computer, the first thing that tries to happen is msnmessenger tries to open my mail automatically on startup, but fails. i open up a explorer window, and it does nothing for about 30 seconds, then it loads it fine.

another example. when i write long replies to posts on forums, and i dont dl any info while im typing, then i go to "send" or post the message, it takes about 30 seconds to start sending anything, or it goes to the all powerful white error screen. which then i press refresh and it loads fine.

we have a home network with 3 other pc's and they dont have this problem, just me, and i have the best pc. anyone got any ideas?
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2004, 05:03 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
BlueDonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: Virginia
Posts: 301
a) describe your home network
b)how long has it been doing this?
__________________
---
BlueDonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 05:08 PM   #3
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
well first off try turning off msn messanger.

Then make sure you have ran Windows Update and downloaded all the security updates atleast

To turn off MSN Messanger:

Go to your Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs, Add Remove Windows COmponents and scroll down to MSN Messanger and uncheck it.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2004, 05:10 PM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
home network is a cisco systems lynksys cable/dsl router. it did it when we didnt have the network, and it was just my computer hooked up, then i started streaming techno constantly whenever i was online, and it stopped(cause i was always recieving info) then i stopped streaming and its back now. my dad thinks its the mass amount of mp3's i have, all whopping 90 of them. i had 560 on another pc and it was older and didnt do this. ive checked the cat5 connections all through the house to make sure they were copa setic (dad put them together) and they looked fine to me. could it be something software related on my pc?
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 05:12 PM   #5
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
and it did this after a fresh install of windows? When do you remember it starting
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 05:12 PM   #6
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
all security updates are installed, unchecking msn messenger now..............


wait wont that delete it?


i just made msn messenger so it doesnt start on startup.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 05:13 PM   #7
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
no it wont delete it... if you need it back just check it again and it will load it up.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 05:14 PM   #8
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
ah brent you remembered. yeah it did it before too, i thought i had some sort of spyware or crap that made it do that, along with other symptoms, thats why i reinstalled and reformatted. but it still does the 30 second idle thing. it just pisses me off, really annoying. it runs fine the rest of the time.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 05:15 PM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
shyt i just got called into work, ill be back later tonight. you guys are the bomb yo.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 05:52 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: California
Posts: 574
Smells like DNS issues.
Laser02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 06:08 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
needs to look at your event viewer, that will give you a event id and then you can research it.

just right click on my computer
choose manage
and then event viewer from the left hand side
and look at system events.

You should be able to locate a error there and pin it down that way, you can enter the error in google to find out what it means that way.

Good luck!
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 08:36 PM   #12
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
aaaaah this makes sense

The IP address lease 192.168.1.101 for the Network Card with network address 000BDBB2ADCA has been denied by the DHCP server 192.168.1.1 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).

User Action
No user action is required. The DHCP Client service will continue trying to obtain a working IP address until it succeeds, and DHCP establishes the network connection on its own.

i guess now that i know whats going on, it wont really bother me. thanks for the help krazy, brent and donkey.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 08:44 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
BlueDonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: Virginia
Posts: 301
that's an interesting error.... why is the router denying you your address (I'm assuming this is on a lease renew)?

may be a good idea to look at any debug that the router (assuming that the router is the server) gives you.

failing that, maybe a static address is in order?
__________________
---
BlueDonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 08:53 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: California
Posts: 574
DHCPNACKs are sent when the IP address is already in use by another computer or the IP address in invalid in accordance with the scope that it's configured with.

It should not be happening every few minutes. Unless you screwed up your DHCP leasing. Default leases are 8 days.. And you will request a renewal when 50% of that expires... Something is not configured right on your DHCP server.
Laser02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 08:58 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
BlueDonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: Virginia
Posts: 301
or the client; the other computers on the network are fine, he says.

GST, can you show the output of "ipconfig /all"?

open DOS prompt
type ipconfig /all > filename
and paste the contents of filename in the forum; I'm curious to see some of these values, like lease time.
__________________
---
BlueDonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 09:32 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: California
Posts: 574
Eh... The lease time is a property of the DHCP server. The only thing the client knows is to look for a server every 5 minutes as long as the DHCP is set. :
Laser02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 10:18 PM   #17
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : thomasroom
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Con
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-DB-B2-AD-CA
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.169.140.6
206.13.28.12
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 08, 2004 2:16:41 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, March 09, 2004 2:16:41 PM
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 10:19 PM   #18
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
now that i htink of it, prolly not smart to put my ip adress on a public forum.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 10:21 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
BlueDonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: Virginia
Posts: 301
it's a private address, anyone tries to do anything with it, they'll get nowhere special.

Besides, you already posted it
__________________
---
BlueDonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 10:23 PM   #20
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
ah
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 10:23 PM   #21
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
ah
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 01:42 PM   #22
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
We can just get it without you posting anyways lol. IP address is nothing special.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 07:29 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
I have mine set to auto detect my settings, on the PC for the network, not specified...

might be your problem, doesnt seem to be getting the request sent out of the router and back to the ISP in enough time, and then the ending result your PC cant talk to the network...

just a hunch!
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:33 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.