I have a problem - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar

Join Mustang Evolution Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-15-2004, 12:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Warfire80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Region: Illinois
Posts: 798
Send a message via MSN to Warfire80
Exclamation I have a problem

So with the annoying pop ups I have been getting, I got a prog from work called adware(made by lavasoft), well it found something like 200 files on my comp that were doing the popups and so on(like gator, gain, etc....)....then it tells me that I have a parasite and a security hole on my comp, and asks me to spend $30 on a 6 month subscription(which I didnt subscribe) and it will remove all that crap. So I had it quaruntine the files, it got rid of alot of crapola but I am still getting the pop ups. Any help would be great in this time of need. I am trying not to spend the $30 so if anyone knows of any progs that I can use it would be nice. Oh and I am also running a firewall and I do have anti-virus software.
__________________
2007 Honda Civic EX
2003 Dodge Ram Hemi 4x4

Quote:
by Lawrence Bell
Show me a man who cannot bother to do little things and I'll show you a man who cannot be trusted to do big things
Warfire80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2004, 12:49 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
When was the last time you updated the Ad-aware software. You mentioned adware which confuses people because Adware is a spyware program and it deluges your computer with spam and pop ups. Ad-aware by lavasoft is the best program I have seen to do the job, you can pay for upgraded version but the freebee is all you need. Also once you have it quarantine go back and delete it.

Here is the problem pop up and spyware guys are constantly updating their programs to get by security measures. Prime example is I was running Ad-Aware 5.7 and loved it. After a night of surfing I would usually have 12 Spyware programs it would find. One day I decided to update to Adaware 6.0 and ran it and it found 147 spyware programs and that was after I had run 5.7. The new found spyware had much different names. I was amazed
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2004, 01:41 PM   #3
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Download Spybot here and update it and run it


Get a Virus Scanner (If you need one let me know)

Turn on your Windows Firewall

Make sure ad-aware is updated.


Run Windows Update and Office Update

Keep running Spybot and Ad-Aware until it finds nothing. You may have to go into Safe mode if it can not get rid of everything in Normal Mode.

Let me know if you are still haivng problems.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 01:43 PM   #4
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
I can give you more things to do after you get all the spyware off so that it does not happen again.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 01:53 PM   #5
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
That is a scam btw dont pay it.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 02:02 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Warfire80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Region: Illinois
Posts: 798
Send a message via MSN to Warfire80
ok, I am at work right now, so I will do that when I get home.
__________________
2007 Honda Civic EX
2003 Dodge Ram Hemi 4x4

Quote:
by Lawrence Bell
Show me a man who cannot bother to do little things and I'll show you a man who cannot be trusted to do big things
Warfire80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 03:43 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,438
Send a message via AIM to Falcon Send a message via MSN to Falcon Send a message via Yahoo to Falcon
yea i had the same exact problem u have just run spybot and adaware and u should be all set they both get things the other doesnt catch, once i ran those two i havent had a problem since. Just do tthose programs at random, and u can do the stuff brent says
__________________
-Derek
1999 Trans Am WS6
Full Stainless Magnaflow Exhaust, Stainless Longtubes/Off Road Y-Pipe, QTP E-Cutout, HP Tuners, Super Sucker Ram Air Kit, BMR Tunnel Brace/Driveshaft Safety Loop, Hotchkis Panhard Bar, Hypertech 160 Thermostat, CF Whisper Air Lid, Corvette FRCs, K&N, !AIR, !EGR
Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 03:48 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 59
Send a message via Yahoo to BlkStang4Me
I had that happen to me before. Turns out I had a program that was installed when I installed Bearshare on my computer. I can't remember the exact name that it was called but I found it in the registry of my computer. Go to the Run command and type in regedit.


Once there go to HKEY_Local_Machine\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVerison\Run

In there you will see various things that start up with your computer. You can usually figure out what it is because it shows the path of where it was installed...ie Norton, Quicktime...etc. Look for something out of the ordinary. You can delete everything in this folder but I wouldn't recommend it....it wouldn't hurt your computer but prevents some of the programs from starting up with your computer like antivirus. You can be selective. If you are not sure, write down all the information about it so if you delete and reboot and then found out something was wrong, you can put it back.
__________________
Smashed Black '04 V6,CAI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
thats gotta suck
BlkStang4Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 04:04 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlkStang4Me
I had that happen to me before. Turns out I had a program that was installed when I installed Bearshare on my computer. I can't remember the exact name that it was called but I found it in the registry of my computer. Go to the Run command and type in regedit.


Once there go to HKEY_Local_Machine\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVerison\Run

In there you will see various things that start up with your computer. You can usually figure out what it is because it shows the path of where it was installed...ie Norton, Quicktime...etc. Look for something out of the ordinary. You can delete everything in this folder but I wouldn't recommend it....it wouldn't hurt your computer but prevents some of the programs from starting up with your computer like antivirus. You can be selective. If you are not sure, write down all the information about it so if you delete and reboot and then found out something was wrong, you can put it back.
He is somewhat correct, but if you are not familiar with going this far into your computer for repairing and deleting files...i would be very careful on doing this. You make one wrong click of the mouse and delete a registry key you will have more problems than spyware after the reboot...

but this is the area in which files will be run from normally in the registry.
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 04:11 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
I have to deal with this stuff ona normal basis at work...

I would recommend the following:

1. Run Ad-Aware 6 ( with most current def. files to be updated)
2. Run Spybot 1.3 ( DITTO ABOVE )
3. Pest Control
4. Google PopUp Blocker, to block most popup ads
5. If running WinXP or Win2k ( Stop the Messenger Service from running )
6. Update with most current Windows Updates as suggested
7. Update NAV or what have ya, with most current Def for Virus A/V Apps
8. Run Stinger Virus Removal tool, http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/

And you should be in good shape, I have most of these in place onmy system at home. And did a scan the other night and found 0 items for Spyware, i was shocked!
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 05:01 PM   #11
n8r
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
n8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,216
Mozilla or Mozilla FireFox. Haven't had a problem with popups EVER!! You choose what sites to give u pop ups and also protects against spyware getting on ur comp. And its free. And it ownz Internet EXPLODER www.mozilla.org
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
Nothing is ever official until its official
n8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 09:54 PM   #12
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
I havent had any tracking cookies or any Spyware in about two months. You just have to be smart with what you install.

99% of filesharing programs have Spyware/Adware. By simply going to some sites you can get it. You jsut have to be smart
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 10:27 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: California
Posts: 574
Nobody mentioned HiJackThis. That is the best tool for disabling spyware.
Laser02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 10:41 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
I have a list of programs that can be used, but i just mentioned a few that I normally use unless its worse than normal....

yo can even try bazooka aswell, does a scan of any spyware that might be on your system and tells you how to remove them manually if any detected!
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 02:48 AM   #15
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
hey i just installed spybot S&D and scanned. found 200 something files that ad-aware missed. but everytime i go to delete(fix the problem) it freezes about 25% through. dammit. wtf mates.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 06:41 AM   #16
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by EclipseGSTdude
hey i just installed spybot S&D and scanned. found 200 something files that ad-aware missed. but everytime i go to delete(fix the problem) it freezes about 25% through. dammit. wtf mates.
Then some of what it is deleting is not spyware but something the program thinks is spyware. That happens especially with some of the newest spyware programs mimic normal programs
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 07:22 AM   #17
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
I have a suggestion: Stop downloading so much PORN!!!
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 10:30 AM   #18
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by EclipseGSTdude
hey i just installed spybot S&D and scanned. found 200 something files that ad-aware missed. but everytime i go to delete(fix the problem) it freezes about 25% through. dammit. wtf mates.
Go in Safe Mode and run it. Its trying to delete something in use and its freezing.

Restart your computer hit F8 until you get a menu and then go into safe mode
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 11:09 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6STANG007
I have a suggestion: Stop downloading so much PORN!!!
TAKE ALL THE FUN OUT OF IT!
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
97 A/C problem phaw16 1996-2004 Mustang GT 7 07-20-2009 01:39 PM
a/c problem 02MustangV6 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 0 12-26-2006 03:44 PM
Problem.. lowflyn Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 15 07-25-2005 01:52 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



08:05 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.