You computer builders, I need help here. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-05-2004, 11:27 PM   #1
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
Question You computer builders, I need help here.

My bro just got a new HP computer with an AGP slot, we recently bought an ATi 9800 Pro AGP card. I thought installing it would be pretty easy, but it's been a pain in my *** ever since I tried putting it in there. The figure shows that it's just supposed to slide right in, but the damn thing won't slide in. It's pretty stupid, and it's annoying the hell outta me. Anyone, help? Before we break the thing?
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2004, 11:32 PM   #2
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Look, this isn't intercourse. It just won't slide right in. Try some lube and get back to us.


Sure you got it turned right?
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2004, 11:35 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
I know, most things need a little push to get in there. And yeah we got it in right, from how the manual shows it looks identical
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2004, 11:42 PM   #4
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Do you have the right hardware to plug into?
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2004, 11:49 PM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
Yes, even the manual shows that we are plugging it into the AGP slot. From how it looks, the edge of the AGP card can't fit into it. It's annoying...
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2004, 11:53 PM   #6
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Is the motherboard compatible?
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 12:00 AM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
Yeah, from how it looks
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 12:13 AM   #8
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
so it looks like its to big?

That usually means you dont have it pressed all the way to the end of the computer (where the inputs come out of the computer and you hook up the monitor. Somethings up because its suppose to just slide in... make sure nothing is in the way etc etc
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 12:29 AM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
I know, I've installed a few video cards into this computer before but this one.. just seems like it's a ***** to do. It isn't pressed all the way in because the edge is pressing against the back of the AGP slot. And yes, the card is pressed against the end of the computer, it just looks and feels like it's stuck.
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 12:36 AM   #10
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seph
I know, I've installed a few video cards into this computer before but this one.. just seems like it's a ***** to do. It isn't pressed all the way in because the edge is pressing against the back of the AGP slot. And yes, the card is pressed against the end of the computer, it just looks and feels like it's stuck.
hmmm how old is the Hp?
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 12:50 AM   #11
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
about.. 3 days old
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 01:17 AM   #12
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seph
about.. 3 days old
lol well I have no idea then
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 01:23 AM   #13
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
I know, I'm going to let someone else do it and screw around with it.

That's why when I buy my computer I'll have everything upgraded in it already
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 03:17 AM   #14
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
^^^lol why in a month youll need to buy a new one then cause itll be obsolete. i said F computers cause of that, i bought a dell and it has nothing done and it runs just as good as the day i bought it. besides i dont like any new pc games, i stick to the classics like tie figher, star trek: klingon academy, starfleet command, and such. all these new games now just dont appeal like my xbox does.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 06:02 AM   #15
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
Half Life 2, The Sims 2, Doom 3, and numerous other games beg me to get a new computer so I can actually play with smoothly and so I can enjoy it from start to finish with little load time and lag. Plus it'll be jammed up with media stuff to, Firewire ports so I can get a cam and actually make some vids on this thing.
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 08:35 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
KrazyPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 800
ya know during all this, Seph never mentions the model of this HP or anything else that would have helped us determine how to help you.

or a picture of what your working with...very limited here man!
__________________
http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa307/KrazyPony/KrazyPonysigBlue.jpg
KrazyPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 03:25 AM   #17
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
oh **** dude, an HP A630N, I'll give you pictures and you'll still be stumped.

A friend of mine told me I could put the AGP card in there but I have to take apart the case to do it and the back of the front of the card with all the connectors for the monitor and all will be sticking out akwardly. I'm having my bro call HP people tomorrow and ask wtf kinda card to get since they apparently can't make a good AGP slot
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 06:03 AM   #18
Registered User
 
01mineralgrey6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,715
Send a message via AIM to 01mineralgrey6
I know the HP i had before i got my AMD, had i think its a PCI?? card, not AGP. maybe thats teh problem??
__________________
-Tony
'99 cobra 'vert
01mineralgrey6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 07:13 AM   #19
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
Yeah, make sure it's actually an AGP slot. It should be tan and set back an inch or so further toward the front of the motherboard than the PCI slots (which are white). A buddy of mine had a little HP box with integrated video and no AGP slot.
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 10:57 AM   #20
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
It is an AGP slot, HP makes some WEIRD *** AGP slots. My Dell's has an AGP slot and it does not look like what the HP's slot is. We specifically bought this HP because it had an AGP slot
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 11:46 AM   #21
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
you are putting it in the agp slot instead of a pci slot right? some mobo's are to cheap to have a agp card... you may have an on board vid card and have to run a POS pci... another good reason why you should build your own computer save a ton of money and be twice as nice
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 12:56 PM   #22
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Seph your not going to like this but from what I have read you dont have a AGP slot.

You have the new PCI Express

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...13806&pfp=cat3

To use that you will have to take the video card back and purchase a new ATI x800 Card that is made for pci express.

You do not have a agp slot
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 01:06 PM   #23
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
You are ****ting me? GRRRR! Well my bro's going to be pissed, but whatever. Thanks Brent, I've got people at work I have to yell at now

So the Radeon X800 XT, http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759...09KTX1K0100360 correct? The XT being better than the pro from what it shows.
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 01:10 PM   #24
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seph
You are ****ting me? GRRRR! Well my bro's going to be pissed, but whatever. Thanks Brent, I've got people at work I have to yell at now

So the Radeon X800 XT, http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759...09KTX1K0100360 correct? The XT being better than the pro from what it shows.
Yes thats the x800

MAke sure you get the one for PCI EXPRESS

I looked at a dozen sites and couldnt find one that said it had a agp slot. Just a pci express
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 01:15 PM   #25
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Black95GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 897
Send a message via AIM to Black95GT
I want the Geforece 6800 Ultra, it pwns everyone
__________________
-Jason
2003 DSG Cobra -2.2L KB, 60lbs Injectors, Single Blade TB, SCT2400 MAF, Kook's LT's, Kook's High-Flow Catted X-Pipe, Magnaflow CB, JLT RAI, MGW Short-Throw, H&R Race Springs, MM CC Plates, MM Bumpsteer, BF IRS Brace, BF Idlers, and AFS 18 Chrome Reps w/ R888s
Black95GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 02:57 PM   #26
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
Alright, thanks tons Brent I told my bro about it and he's going to look into it.

Yes, the Ultra owns
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 03:00 PM   #27
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black95GT
I want the Geforece 6800 Ultra, it pwns everyone
Actually the x800 benched higher in the majority of test.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 05:40 PM   #28
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 908
I saw that too, but I just like the GeForce brand..
__________________
-Patrick
http://home.socal.rr.com/sephiros/images/NewBan.jpg

Christopher Reeve - Even though I don't personally believe in the Lord, I try to behave as though He was watching.
Seph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > The Bar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a new computer... bullitt482 The Bar 29 08-31-2007 09:42 AM
Computer 95stang_man Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 1 03-24-2005 11:47 PM
Computer problem....for all you computer gurus.. Rick0636 The Bar 59 02-19-2005 11:42 PM
computer help STEVE The Bar 14 07-21-2004 08:04 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



06:14 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.