Mustang Evolution

Mustang Evolution (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/)
-   1996-2004 Mustang GT (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/f280/)
-   -   newbie here and need help locating a miss fire problem (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/f280/t283877/)

black03cobra 11-03-2010 05:13 PM

newbie here and need help locating a miss fire problem

I made the mistake of detailing my motor so i replaced all of my coils and replaced my plugs also. it still has a miss fire and my mass air flow sensor is not reading properly. check engine light isnt on and not quite sure what else to look for.

PureVenom 11-03-2010 05:19 PM

Re: newbie here and need help locating a miss fire problem

When is the missfire happening? Idle? WOT? RPM?

What did you gap the plugs at when you replaced them? What plugs?

What mods do you have done to your car?

What MAF are you running?

That should get us started at least.

For reference, I clean my engine all the time including hosing it down...so it's not a mistake to detail it.

black03cobra 11-03-2010 05:28 PM

its the factory MAF, and the tech that took a look at it for me said it was reading half of what it should be reading.
the plugs are motorcraft and i didnt gap them, just tightened them down
my mods are just a magnaflow catback and intake.
and im not sure when its miss firing,unsteady idle and loss of power with a heavy tremble at idle

black03cobra 11-03-2010 06:07 PM

its the factory MAF, and the tech that took a look at it for me said it was reading half of what it should be reading.
and im not sure when its miss firing,unsteady idle and loss of power with a heavy tremble at idle

lowflyn 11-03-2010 08:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by black03cobra (Post 799948)

How did the tech read the MAF? Did he plug into the diagnostic port under the dash?