Mustang Evolution

Mustang Evolution (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/)
-   2005-2010 Mustang GT (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/f256/)
-   -   Roush CAI (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/f256/t294961/)

06Stanger23 11-07-2011 06:48 AM

Roush CAI
 
I just installed a Roush CAI on my 06 GT and now its not wanting to stay running. Either not enough fuel or air, or Mass air flow sensor, vaccum hose. Not sure what to do next to fix the problem.

Anyone came across this problem and find the solution
Thanks

SpectorV 11-07-2011 07:17 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
make sure you hooked up everything correctly, did you install a tune with it? I am betting its required, it is on most at least.

06Stanger23 11-07-2011 07:34 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SpectorV (Post 985753)
make sure you hooked up everything correctly, did you install a tune with it? I am betting its required, it is on most at least.

I am 99% sure everything is hooked up right. What kind of tune do i need with it. Its a 06 Roush stage 1.

Y2E0L0L5OGWT 11-07-2011 07:42 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
It's not staying running because you need a tune. With the added air from the CAI, the car is running lean. You will need a tuner (such as SCT or Diablosport) with a pre-loaded tune on it that you plug into the port under the dash on the driver's side. You will have to contact a place like American Muscle (or similar) to get a tuner & preloaded tune(s). It will run you an additional $300-400 I believe.

KATO 11-07-2011 09:12 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
You say it's already a Roush stage one setup? Who did the CAI Install?? Is the MAF plugged in?

06Stanger23 11-07-2011 09:33 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
I put on the CAI and yes the MAF is plugged in. It ran better when it was unplugged though. I might have dropped the MAF during install of the CAI but like two ft drop, not sure how breakable the MAF's are but when I unplug the MAF it runs a little better and does not die out. I plug the MAF in and it wants to die out. Roush did not say you need a tuner for the CAI but they were not really clear either. Why would they sell a CAI w/o a tuner if you need it for your application to run properly? Anyone want to sale their tuner $$$ ???. Not even sure that is the problem. Any help?

2003CobraSvt 11-07-2011 10:26 AM

Yes the preload tune is SF3 part # 3015 I have it

06Stanger23 11-07-2011 10:32 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
How much you want for it.

Does everyone need a tuner for a CAI??

Y2E0L0L5OGWT 11-07-2011 10:43 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 06Stanger23 (Post 985829)
How much you want for it.

Does everyone need a tuner for a CAI??

For 05+ Models, yes.

It's not as simple as someone "selling" you their tune. You MUST have the handheld tuner device to load the tune ot your car's ECU. Once you've loaded the tune to your car, the handheld device will data-log your stock tune & the device will be "locked" to your car until it is reset to "stock". The following links direct you to GREAT handheld tuner products:

SCT SF3/X3 Power Flash Tuner w/ 3 Free Custom Tunes (05-10 GT) - SCT 3015||38018

DiabloSport 2005-2006 Mustang Tuner at AmericanMuscle.com - Free Shipping!

I personally prefer the SCT product better. Also, I HIGHLY recommend you call a reputable company, such as American Muscle to walk you thru any potential questions you have. Also, with AM, you get free tunes for life, that you can have updated for each performance mod you do in the future.

frank07stanggt 11-07-2011 01:48 PM

Is ur mass air meter facing the right way?

FordTech 11-07-2011 06:50 PM

^^^agreed sounds like you may have put the maf sensor back in backwards.

Bobby 11-07-2011 07:39 PM

Don't panic. Put it back together and order the tuner with the tune. AM will know what to do and when it comes reinstall and add the tune. You'll need the tuner for future tunes. You'll love it

tylerb 11-07-2011 07:44 PM

you don't need a tune with roush CAI

KATO 11-08-2011 05:39 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 06Stanger23 (Post 985803)
I put on the CAI and yes the MAF is plugged in. It ran better when it was unplugged though. I might have dropped the MAF during install of the CAI but like two ft drop, not sure how breakable the MAF's are but when I unplug the MAF it runs a little better and does not die out. I plug the MAF in and it wants to die out. Roush did not say you need a tuner for the CAI but they were not really clear either. Why would they sell a CAI w/o a tuner if you need it for your application to run properly? Anyone want to sale their tuner $$$ ???. Not even sure that is the problem. Any help?

Interesting question below from "frank07stanggt" and "FordTech", about if you put the MAF back in, in the correct position?

06Stanger23 11-08-2011 08:18 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
The arrow is pointing towards the throttle body so I think its in the right position. I thought Roush didn't need a tuner. But I am still going to order one just for other mods I am wanting to do. I think its the MAF sensor from when I droped it. Any difference in any of the MAF i can order. Or just get the cheap one from auto store.

KATO 11-08-2011 08:24 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
Maybe someone else can chime in on this, cause I'm lost for words on this issue. I would not think a small fall like this could damage it, but maybe you are right about that.

S281 11-09-2011 02:59 PM

Re: Roush CAI
 
You probably could damage it by dropping it. There's very fine wires in there, could of broke one. If you know someone with a Mustang try theirs, takes 5 minutes to change.

frank07stanggt 11-10-2011 12:31 PM

And if it works just keep driving as you say sorry sucka. Lol

Eturner 11-10-2011 01:49 PM

Or you can just wait for your tuner to arrive and do a diagnostic check with it...

Beav 11-10-2011 02:02 PM

Re: Roush CAI
 
Roush CAI (normally)do not require a tune, but you sure won't get the maximum benefit from it without one...

06Stanger23 11-18-2011 08:03 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
So i was wondering what bolt-ons are best for horsepower.

bullitt1075 11-18-2011 10:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 06Stanger23
So i was wondering what bolt-ons are best for horsepower.

Without a tuner you won't see the full advantages of any bolt on. So I would go with a tuner first.

06Stanger23 11-18-2011 11:03 AM

Re: Roush CAI
 
So with a tuner, you have to get it programmed by AM or another company. You cant do it yourself. What does a tuner do, I know it reprograms the computer for more HP and fuel eco. Are the computers programmed down that much that you will notice that much more HP.

bullitt1075 11-18-2011 12:41 PM

The short answer is yes. Fords factory tunes are very conservative and they leave a good amount of hp on the table. Tuners come pre-set with tunes, but companies like BAMA are able to squeeze out more, and with guaranteed tunes for life you can't go wrong with BAMA.


10:39 AM

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.