Mustang Evolution

Mustang Evolution (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/)
-   Pre-2005 V6 Mustang (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/f133/)
-   -   Changing alternator. Should I charge the battery? (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/f133/t313984/)

Bryan02V6 10-02-2012 06:38 PM

So I think my Auto Zone alternators aren't powerful enough for the car.

So after my second alternator I got a refund and bought a 110 volt alternator for the car.

Do I need to charge the battery before hooking it up? The battery is a bit run down from the previous alternator failing.

1slosix 10-02-2012 06:40 PM

i would...i never put a low battery on a fresh alternator if i can help it

Bryan02V6 10-02-2012 08:12 PM

Thanks!


It's at about 11.7 right now but better safe than sorry you know?

mymustang 10-02-2012 08:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bryan02V6 (Post 1334165)
Thanks!


It's at about 11.7 right now but better safe than sorry you know?

Yep thats pretty dead..12.0 is 25%,12.2,50%,,12.4 ,75%,,12.6,is fully charged..That would be like cranking your car up and running it wide open,,I would def charge the battery a bit,,I had some problems with their alternators too,,and it was a new one not reman

Bryan02V6 10-03-2012 04:41 AM

Another question.


Does it matter if the battery is hooked up to the car or can it be charged by itself?

derekb_ 10-03-2012 05:25 AM

you can charge it by itself

Bryan02V6 10-03-2012 11:05 AM

Thanks. I'll probably just do that to keep it separate from the car.

dwood63 10-04-2012 06:12 AM

I had my alternator go out on me yesterday on my way to work, the abs light kicked on when I hit the brakes and lights got dim, then the theft light came on and when I pulled into my parking spot at work it died, probably best and worst luck lol, but I got autozone's 110 amp alternator and it works fine $151 :D

SpectorV 10-04-2012 09:48 AM

battery can be tested, but if its older may as well

Eturner 10-04-2012 09:59 AM

Won't hurt to charge up the battery!..

ab_mach1 10-04-2012 10:33 AM

The last alternator I purchased actually had it on a sticker, on the alternator, to make sure the battery is fully charged before operating the car. Maybe there is a break-in period for the alternator where it needs ~12.6V to operate properly.:confused:

dwood63 10-04-2012 11:13 AM

Yeah you don't want to put that much stress on a new alternator

Bryan02V6 10-04-2012 06:09 PM

The battery is very new. I'm just charging it because the old alternator drained it for a little while.

Another question.

When I crank the car with the new alternator and charged battery, how long should it run the first time?

Just crank and shut it off or take it around a bit?

What's the protocol here?

ab_mach1 10-04-2012 07:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bryan02V6 (Post 1336052)
The battery is very new. I'm just charging it because the old alternator drained it for a little while.

Another question.

When I crank the car with the new alternator and charged battery, how long should it run the first time?

Just crank and shut it off or take it around a bit?

What's the protocol here?

If your battery if fully charged, I don't think I've ever heard of anything other than just carry on with your normal activities. :good:

Bryan02V6 10-04-2012 08:02 PM

I just got it off the charger and its a little warm.


Is it ok to hook up and run now or should I wait?

ab_mach1 10-04-2012 10:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bryan02V6 (Post 1336169)
I just got it off the charger and its a little warm.

Is it ok to hook up and run now or should I wait?

Once it cools some, it will be fine. Maybe an hour after it reached full charge.

1slosix 10-04-2012 11:01 PM

i had to replace my battery and alternator at the same time a couple months ago...luckily i work for a parts house so i just did it in the parking lot on my break

Bryan02V6 10-05-2012 03:36 AM

Well I cranked it up and everything seems fine. To be sure I'm going to take it back and get everything tested again to be sure.

You'd think changing a battery and alternator wouldn't be such a big deal.

However, this is the third alternator and third battery in a little over a month (counting the original) so I needed to be a little more certain that I was doing everything right.

ab_mach1 10-05-2012 04:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bryan02V6 (Post 1336390)
Well I cranked it up and everything seems fine. To be sure I'm going to take it back and get everything tested again to be sure.

You'd think changing a battery and alternator wouldn't be such a big deal.

However, this is the third alternator and third battery in a little over a month (counting the original) so I needed to be a little more certain that I was doing everything right.

You should be looking at reasons for this to happen because that is not normal. You should check your wiring to the alternator and battery, as well as the ground locations. If you are taking it to a mechanic, I would ask that they look into this.

Bryan02V6 10-05-2012 11:31 AM

Well that's my next step I suppose. I took it to work today and stopped on my way home to get the battery and alternator tested.

It wouldn't even crank for the test.

All I know is there is no short. But apparently there is some sort of drain on the system.

Bryan02V6 10-05-2012 03:27 PM

Well the alternator does work but for some reason it doesn't give a reading when hooked up to the car.

ab_mach1 10-05-2012 04:32 PM

There something going on for sure. I would be careful to make sure your new alternator doesn't die.

Anybody else know what he can do to find out where his problem might be? Seems like some kind of a short somewhere to me.

1slosix 10-05-2012 10:07 PM

is the battery dead during the test? or is it just not starting?

Dgerow12 10-06-2012 07:37 AM

Make sure the fuse for your alternator isn't blown. That happened to me on my girlfriends car. Put a new alternator on and it still wasn't charging and the fuse was blown

Bryan02V6 10-06-2012 05:34 PM

Battery and alternator both check out on their own.

Once you changed the fuse, was it ok?

Dgerow12 10-06-2012 06:59 PM

Yes check the fuse

Bryan02V6 10-08-2012 07:50 AM

I'm not sure which fuse to check so I checked them all.

I couldn't find a burnt one so I threw in the towel and took it to the mechanic. I'll let you know what the verdict is.

Pony_Boy 10-08-2012 08:04 AM

Sounds like a bad ground or possible relay issue. Good luck, electrical issues can always be a pain. Btw, cables go bad. Usually about the ten year mark, but most don't cause detrimental failure until much later. Ever replace spark plug cables? Testing impedance on the cables and circuits is where I'd go from here.

Eturner 10-08-2012 10:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pony_Boy
Sounds like a bad ground or possible relay issue. Good luck, electrical issues can always be a pain. Btw, cables go bad. Usually about the ten year mark, but most don't cause detrimental failure until much later. Ever replace spark plug cables? Testing impedance on the cables and circuits is where I'd go from here.

Lol. I had a ground cable go out on me in my Monte a few years back!.. It caused my gauges to jump around and act weird!.. It took Three Dealerships and two months to track down what was going on!.. And when they finally did, only ten minutes to fix it!!!.... Lol ;)

Ya anything electrical can be a pain to figure out!...

Bryan02V6 10-09-2012 04:37 AM

He's going to start with my gauge cluster. I replaced the factory one a while back and he thinks its possible that the new cluster doesn't have a diode(?) that tells the alternator to charge.

Pony_Boy 10-09-2012 02:32 PM

Aftermarket fun! I love these new cars and their integrated can-bus...good luck! Keep us updated!

Bryan02V6 10-19-2012 05:20 PM

Well the verdict is in and the new gauge cluster is the culprit!

So I'm in touch with AM about getting either a replacement or refund.

ab_mach1 10-19-2012 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bryan02V6 (Post 1351765)
Well the verdict is in and the new gauge cluster is the culprit!

So I'm in touch with AM about getting either a replacement or refund.

No *****? Well, I know American Muscle will take care of you. They have some great customer service. How long have you had this gauge cluster? Most of all, sorry we could help figure that out sooner.

Bryan02V6 10-21-2012 10:35 AM

I bought it over the summer but didn't install it until the beginning of August.

And yes AM's customer service is top notch. They said have the mechanic fax them a report of the issue and they'll take care of it.

I'm a little afraid to get a new cluster after this. I love the cluster but I'm afraid to go through this again. I guess I'll see what they say....

Bryan02V6 10-28-2012 08:28 AM

Well AM stepped up big time.


They sent me a new cluster before getting mine back. Simco wants the cluster back to see what the issue is.

Hopefully the new cluster will solve the problem.


12:55 AM

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.