Mustang Evolution

Mustang Evolution (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/)
-   2011-2014 Mustang GT (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/f358/)
-   -   How to install a 2013 Mustang Track Apps Instrument Cluster in a 2013 Base model GT (http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/f358/t348124/)

Deerslayer 01-21-2014 07:54 PM

How to install a 2013 Mustang Track Apps Instrument Cluster in a 2013 Base model GT
 
I will be the pseudo guinea pig for this experiment. It has already been done and well documented how to install a 2013 premium cluster with track apps into a 2012 model GT. It was pretty complicated as the communication between the 2012 PCM & Cluster needed a "black box" or converter so it could read the data. For the 2012 swap, a new ABS module is also needed for the Track Apps to be accessed.
Watching everything unfold over the months of research and testing they did on the original swap thread, it became pretty apparent that a '13 to '13 swap would be a lot less involved (in theory)
So this is where I come in. Thanks to those three guys that have more electrical/tech knowledge than I can believe, and shared it all online, I am relatively confident I can pull this off.
I have talked to a couple of the guys that did this with their '12's I have a '13 Track Apps Premium Cluster in hand. (Thanks to TCopp on this site for picking the cluster up as it was a local craigslist sale in his area!)
I bought the 4 pad switch for the left hand side of the steering wheel and it will be here by the end of the week. I will post step by step pics of everything as I go so anyone should be able to do this without a lot of technical experience.

Here is my premium cluster w/Track Apps - Thanks TCopp!
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/m...ps23fbcd29.jpg

2013 track apps cluster
http://mustangsdaily.com/blog/wp-con...track-apps.jpg

Part Number DR3T 9E740 BBW you will need. Found this one on ebay shipped for $30.00
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/m...ps0a2fd2d6.jpg

Besides the cluster & the CC switch, you will need your dealer to do the following:

1) PATS RELEARN - this is your passive auto theft system, you can start your car with your cluster, plug in this cluster to test and check it out, but if you try to start your car prior to the PATS RELEARN, your car will not start with the swapped cluster.
2) Load ASBUILT data into the the new cluster. This will allow your PCM communicate with cluster.

3)Odometer reset - Dealer or some aftermarket shops can sync your odometers

Researching, it looks like the 2013 ABS module that feeds data for the Track Apps is the same for 2013 mustangs. Having the correct ABS module and not having to purchase a "black box" saves you $400 over swapping this into a '12! :good:

The clusters are a hard find. They show up on carparts.com and ebay, but go quick. One on ebay went for $160 and that is ridiculous cheap, but it was a km/h cluster.
Only thing I hate is the font and layout of the gauge. I have a boss gauge without the lcd, and am thinking of trying some way to also do a face swap.....we will see. First things First :popcorn:

HPFury 01-21-2014 09:09 PM

Good luck with install. If you have any extra racaro seats I will take them lol. I am in Austin Tx too. :-)

primer2tone 01-22-2014 01:03 AM

Interesting. Do you have any idea if the '12 premium GT cluster is compatible with the '11 base GT?

Deerslayer 01-22-2014 06:23 AM

Quote:

Do you have any idea if the '12 premium GT cluster is compatible with the '11 base GT?
Wouldn't know 100% until someone tested it. If your steering wheel controls match that of the '12 premium it came out of, it would be a question of Ford changing or masking the communication from the PCM to the cluster. You can actually test these somewhat by starting your car with your cluster, unplugging it while running and plugging the new cluster in. If everything works, all you need is to have the dealer do a PATS RELEARN, your done. If the gauges don't work, you would need a converter box which would need to be custom for that combo which is a deal killer. If you could somehow get the gauge without buying it, simple test will tell you.

bucko 01-22-2014 06:27 AM

I followed this swap on another forum. Thanks to two individuals over "there" who painstackenly documented their effort to make it all work. I believe it took well into 8 months before they fifured it all out, along with countless trips to Ford for flashing.

It wasn't easy.

Deerslayer 01-22-2014 06:44 AM

Quote:

I followed this swap on another forum. Thanks to two individuals over "there" who painstackenly documented their effort to make it all work. I believe it took well into 8 months before they fifured it all out, along with countless trips to Ford for flashing.

It wasn't easy.
I followed it as well the last 4 months. The problem solving was impressive. I am hoping the swap I am doing is a LOT less involved. It will answer the base to premium question that are the same years.

TCopp 01-22-2014 06:52 AM

Glad it got to you fast. Hope it all works out, I'll be following the thread to see the progress. Good luck dude!

mystang50 01-22-2014 06:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TCopp (Post 1929366)
Glad it got to you fast. Hope it all works out, I'll be following the thread to see the progress. Good luck dude!

x2! this looks interesting!:)

5LHO 01-22-2014 08:43 AM

Gutsy move. The IPC is directly synched to the body control module in the passenger footwell, and integrated with anti-theft, TC/AT/ABS subsystems, as you say. It's not a plug and play job by any stretch.

Anyone looking for a performance metric device they can take with them need look no further than their smartphone and a rigid mount.

There are other devices out there that stand alone though. I have a now very obsolete Dashhawk II that does this stuff, fwiw.

1ststang 01-22-2014 09:34 AM

This should turn out interesting. I wanted to do the same but i think theres just too much involved.

Deerslayer 01-22-2014 09:37 AM

Quote:

Anyone looking for a performance metric device they can take with them need look no further than their smartphone and a rigid mount.

There are other devices out there that stand alone though. I have a now very obsolete Dashhawk II that does this stuff, fwiw.
Yeah, if it were just the Track Apps, I would go with the Boss triple gauge cluster mount, and then buy seperately a DPIC gauge , oil temp and water temp gauges. Still a hefty price tag.
The things I like with this gauge is the AFR and the gauge instrumentation that is available toggling through the menu. Could care less about the mood lighting crap.

Quote:

This should turn out interesting. I wanted to do the same but i think theres just too much involved.
Hence my Selfie...
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi..._injection.jpg

TrackPak 01-22-2014 08:58 PM

:cool: Actually the 2014 cluster would be the ticket :whistling:
so you can run the NEW track key coming in April.

Supposably its the instrument cluster that was re wired
allowing the GT track key to be utilized ?

if Ford Racing was Smart >
They would offer a retro cluster to 2014 swap with key and make MUCHO $$$$

I'd buy one for my 2013 :dance:

xxPIKExx 01-22-2014 09:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TrackPak (Post 1929967)
:cool: Actually the 2014 cluster would be the ticket :whistling:
so you can run the NEW track key coming in April.

Supposably its the instrument cluster that was re wired
allowing the GT track key to be utilized ?

if Ford Racing was Smart >
They would offer a retro cluster to 2014 swap with key and make MUCHO $$$$

I'd buy one for my 2013 :dance:

Where did you hear that?

TCopp 01-22-2014 10:12 PM

Yeah, how is the 14 diff than the 13?

Deerslayer 01-22-2014 10:17 PM

Quote:

Yeah, how is the 14 diff than the 13?
We will find out pretty quickly. On the other thread, a person who has a '14 premium with track apps, bought a '13 Boss Cluster with track apps and is going to try to do the swap. If it doesn't work, I would love to have a chance to get that cluster!

HPFury 01-23-2014 05:53 PM

I'll pay you to dot it my Stang if can pull it off! Good luck with install. :thumb:

RubyRed14GT 02-04-2014 08:39 AM

so i'm guessing a 14 premium cluster will swap into a base gt with no problem?

Deerslayer 02-04-2014 08:42 AM

Quote:

so i'm guessing a 14 premium cluster will swap into a base gt with no problem?
Assuming you have a '13 or '14 base........You will need to get the same steering wheel switch as I show above and have the dealership do a PATS relearn as well as the odometer reset once installed.

RubyRed14GT 02-04-2014 08:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deerslayer (Post 1940667)
Assuming you have a '13 or '14 base........You will need to get the same steering wheel switch as I show above and have the dealership do a PATS relearn as well as the odometer reset once installed.

that's great news. I wish they made the boss in 14 because I love the font they used with it. how much do the premium clusters run from ford?

RubyRed14GT 02-04-2014 08:48 AM

I do have a 14 base

Deerslayer 02-04-2014 08:51 AM

There is a guy installing a '13 Boss Track Apps cluster into a '14 premium GT. We will see how that goes.
I am switching out faceplates in this cluster with an aftermarket (BlackCat) gauge plate that is similar to the Boss Cluster. I don't have it, but it is going to be a project "fit" as they do not make a '13 cluster plate. I am going to use my fabrication skills to get a '12 faceplate it to work :)

RubyRed14GT 02-04-2014 08:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deerslayer (Post 1940673)
There is a guy installing a '13 Boss Track Apps cluster into a '14 premium GT. We will see how that goes.
I am switching out faceplates in this cluster with an aftermarket (BlackCat) gauge plate that is similar to the Boss Cluster. I don't have it, but it is going to be a project "fit" as they do not make a '13 cluster plate. I am going to use my fabrication skills to get a '12 faceplate it to work :)

you're going to be a busy guy haha. i'll keep an eye on this post. if he can get it to work without a lot of headaches then i'll be doing that as well

Deerslayer 02-04-2014 09:00 AM

Quote:

you're going to be a busy guy haha. i'll keep an eye on this post. if he can get it to work without a lot of headaches then i'll be doing that as well
LOL....I will get the faceplate here pretty quick as it has been ordered. The Speedo side will be simple, the tach side will require some modification, but I am pretty confident I can pull it off.
Already have things setup with the dealership, just need to car to come home from school to complete the install :)

Deerslayer 02-13-2014 07:13 PM

Finishing the next phase of the cluster swap. Redesigned the faceplate for the GT Track Apps cluster.
Top was original, bottom is the new designed one:
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/m...pse6c85d9f.jpg

2013_DIB_GTCS 02-13-2014 07:35 PM

Deerslayer, where did you get that faceplate from? Looks almost exactly like the boss, but I think the speedometer on the boss goes a little higher and the tach is a little different because of the higher redline from the boss intake manifold

Deerslayer 02-13-2014 08:39 PM

Quote:

Deerslayer, where did you get that faceplate from? Looks almost exactly like the boss, but I think the speedometer on the boss goes a little higher and the tach is a little different because of the higher redline from the boss intake manifold
It is a custom faceplate that I designed and Black Cat Customs makes. This one is not available quite yet. They are using my '13 GT premium faceplate as a pattern to build the one I designed below.
It is the BOSS cluster font with the scale to match the GT cluster. 160 instead of 180 on the speedo and 0-8k rpm on the tach. I adjusted the redline and also got rid of the k/ph scale on the speedo side.
They should have them on their site pretty soon. MUCH simpler design and not so busy like the OEM Premium cluster has.

Deerslayer 02-13-2014 08:45 PM

We installed a Boss cluster on the car, the tach reads correct, however the speedo is off. Didn't want to deal with that so we are going this route with the Track Apps Cluster.
Also finished the carbon fiber on the console with a custom cup holder door with Pistol Pete inlaid into the gel coat. Would have liked a 180mph speedo, but getting everything programmed properly was beginning to be a problem.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/m...ps62c43e14.jpg

Finished product should look like this:
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/m...psf0e19465.jpg

2013_DIB_GTCS 02-13-2014 10:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deerslayer (Post 1947826)
It is a custom faceplate that I designed and Black Cat Customs makes. This one is not available quite yet. They are using my '13 GT premium faceplate as a pattern to build the one I designed below.
It is the BOSS cluster font with the scale to match the GT cluster. 160 instead of 180 on the speedo and 0-8k rpm on the tach. I adjusted the redline and also got rid of the k/ph scale on the speedo side.
They should have them on their site pretty soon. MUCH simpler design and not so busy like the OEM Premium cluster has.

It looks awesome. I'd love to know when I could get my hands on one.

Deerslayer 02-13-2014 10:42 PM

When I get this one in, I will take in-hand pics as well as some how to pics

Byock 02-14-2014 09:40 AM

I must just suck at searching, but for the life of me I cannot find the part # for the cluster. Any chance you could post that?

I have a base 14 GT, and would love to do a swap to the premium cluster.

TCopp 02-14-2014 09:48 AM

Yeah, I like the simpler looks of the boss cluster much more. The font is better as well.

HPFury 02-14-2014 10:20 AM

Looking for a boss track apps cluster myself for my 2014 base GT with tech package. If anyone sees one out there ease let me know. Had no luck w/my searches recently. :/

Deerslayer 02-14-2014 12:06 PM

HPFury,
The parts number for a 2013 Boss 302 Track Apps cluster is:
DRZ10849CA

Problem is this with buying one new from Ford: You can find these for around $500 shipped. You have to supply them with a VIN# of a 2013 Boss with the same cluster, (not a problem) your current mileage,(not a problem) and THEN they hold a $300 core charge. If you send them a cluster that doesn't fit that bill, they keep your $300. You then are $800 into the cluster and still need your dealer to do a PATS relearn and have the tech manually enter ASBUILT date from a '13 Boss which will run you about $125 avg.
If you can find a used cluster w/ LCD, it makes this mod much more affordable, that is why I am going the gauge face route as well.

HPFury 02-14-2014 12:14 PM

Thanks Deerslayer. I will PM you once I come up with the funds for this if I get stuck anywhere. This is my DD so I cant afford for it to be down for a long time.

RubyRed14GT 02-15-2014 07:19 AM

Did your friend get the '13 Boss gauge to work in his '14 or is he still working on that?


06:12 AM

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.