Clogged Cats solution feedback? 05 v6 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-08-2018, 10:06 PM   #1

Question Clogged Cats solution feedback? 05 v6

Hello, I am new to the "Mustang" world. I purchased a 05 Mustang back in February. Being a single mother, I figured I would start out small and buy a v6. I have done some minor modifications to the car to help keep it reliable and also help with the <look>aspect. About a month or so ago, I had this terrible rattling sound. I began to trouble shoot the issue and found it to be my cats. The acceleration had been very off , but it was not consistent. Soon after figuring out the issue, my car literally bogged out on me on my way to work about three weeks ago and has since been parked. With all this being said, I am no mechanic and have began to look into other options for fixing this issue.(Who has $2200 to fix those things??) I have researched and researched. Before this cat issue, I had bought a Pypes Mid-Muffler True Dual Exhaust kit for my car. It has been in the box for about two months now. Has anyone gone this route.... deleted cats, installed the new exhaust, and been happy with the out come? I read on how to bypass the O2 senors... I just am a little hesitant. I just need some honest feed back. I plan on keeping this car for the long haul.
Sixxerlegand is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-08-2018, 10:46 PM   #2
Registered Member

Regular

Region: Washington
Well, removing the cats is not legal according to Federal law.....that said, many here do exactly that. I take it your state does not sniff the exhaust in order to renew your license plates like mine does. There is no way here to pass that test without working cats.