Engine rebuild - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-Current Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-03-2019, 04:53 AM   #1

Region: Georgia
Engine rebuild

I have plans to rebuild my 2012 GT motor. I’m new to the mechanics of vehicles. I would like to know what ideas you guys have on what you would rebuild and upgrade if you were in my shoes. I Plan on having a mechanic do all the work. I just want to be confident that I’m paying for top quality.
jjl3717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-03-2019, 11:49 AM   #2
Staff
Regular
Staff

Region: Europe
Find a low mileage pullout from a 2015-2017. Direct replacement for your engine and you'll get a power bump from the Gen2 heads. Replace the intake with a 2018 GT intake. Have the mechanic just drop it in. Don't overthink it and that will also be super cost effective vs a "build".

Get a solid tune from Lund or AED sent to you for startup and then dial it in from there. Or if there is a local reputable dyno tuner, have the car towed there for tuning and optimizing the power from your new engine.
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048 34k miles. 99 Cobra 4V swapped, FTBR IRS swapped, exhaust, tuned by James Gordon.

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 12:50 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
Find a low mileage pullout from a 2015-2017. Direct replacement for your engine and you'll get a power bump from the Gen2 heads. Replace the intake with a 2018 GT intake. Have the mechanic just drop it in. Don't overthink it and that will also be super cost effective vs a "build".