Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got my new Mustang V6 ,Manual trans, 051a package,about 400 miles. Love the car but it has a vibration between 60 and 70. Not real bad but not right,it feels like a driveshaft vibration( I am a auto tech,30 years),Just wanted to open up a new thread to see if any other people have had issues.I will update when I get a idea on what it could be. Not driving to much yet due to weather in upstate NY. Thanks,Bill

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
This is not related to RPM it is 60-70 MPH doesnt matter what gear..Only has 300 miles so it is still under gaurantee so I wont be replacing the driveshaft.Thanks,Bill

K

·
0 Posts
Usually its not a case of bad parts. Its more of a limitation of the stock driveshaft. Assuming this is the culprit, the dealer replacing it with another 2 piece stock driveshaft will not help.

When I had my new 2011 v6 it did the same thing. It wasn't because something was broken or bad, its just how these are built.

Now your issue may be something totally different. So take it in and have it checked. However, if you get the "couldn't find any issues" speech, then this will be up to you to decide if this minor annoyance can be worked around or if it's something you want to throw money at.

On a side note, there are many upsides to a 1 piece aluminum driveshaft.

Also, i noticed we are talking about a 2015. Not to be the forum cop, but isn't there another area to post 2015 items?

K

·
0 Posts
^^ this can definitely be a possibility. Also check tire inflation.

·
Super Moderator
5,240 Posts
sounds like classic tire balance. I would swap wheels around to see if the vibration changes feel. If you've swapped out rims with non OEM's did you remove the disc retaining clips....

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #11