Mustang Evolution Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,001 Posts
JHL981 said:
Im new to the whole mustang scene, but what kind of mods can i do to a 4.0 V-6 in my 05?

Basically anything to the engine that you can do to the older V6,
there are no stroker kits yet and I am working on cam regrinds
and something else but you can get porting and maybe TB's...
I believe there may be UDP's available and certainly an exhaust
could be made to work... What did you have in mind? I can be more
specific if you tell me what you want to do.

·
Premium Member
25,510 Posts
i would wait a bit on the more extreme mods, let the aftermarket catch up. perhaps exhaust and a shifter (unless you got an auto.....) stuff like that.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Like some mods under say $300. SOmething to give the engine some pep. Like on my old ranger, there was an airbox mod, a MAF mod, TB mod, stuff like that

·
Registered
1,001 Posts
JHL981 said:
Like some mods under say $300. SOmething to give the engine some pep. Like on my old ranger, there was an airbox mod, a MAF mod, TB mod, stuff like that

Leave the MAF alone, unless you just want to smooth it out,
but leave the post in there. I have a 1/2 shafting how-to
somewhere that I did a long time ago, it is easy, adds
maybe 15% more flow and adding a CAI will be great too.
That gives you a good filter and no airbox to impede flow.

Here's a link to a site that shows 1/2 shafting and it has some pix
for doing a 94-98 3.8 TB. I noticed this guy used info for intakes off of
GrapeApe racing and did not note that it was from there, and used the
1/2 shaft thing and did not note that... but at the bottom of his site
he has a copyright warning, :rolleyes:

http://rogueperformance.com/UpperIntakeManifold.html

This is a ranger mod page, TB 1/2 shafting is quite similar
despite TB size or design. It's not a bad guide but the guy
lets on like he invented the concept. We know better ;)

·
Registered
236 Posts