Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:banghead::banghead:I am new to this forum but while doing searches I always get directed here so I figured I would join. I am a basic backyard novice but I have some good skills. I restored both a '68 & '69 Mustang and they run like tops. My '89 was running perfectly until a few days ago. I have seen dozens of answers to this issue all over the web. Problem is, some of the solutions seem way over my head and skill level and the others didn't work. I know finding and fixing something like this at a shop will cost huge dollars so I want to at least try everything first.

Here is my issue.

It is a 1989 GT, automatic convertible.
MSD Streetfighter box, blaster coil and billit distributor
BAMA computer ship from American Muscle
BBK cold air intake and throttle body.

All of these mods have been in the car for over a year and she has always run like a top. This weekend I installed a PA Performance 95amp alternator along with the heavy duty lead that runs from the alternator to the starter relay. Everything went great, finished up, started the car and it ran like it always does. Amp meter read strong and all electricals worked properly. I took her for a ride and it was perfect. Brought her home, shut her down and cleaned up. When I tried to start her about a half hour later, nothing. She cranks fine but won't turn over. I tinkered and nothing. Came out about an hour later and she fired right up. Took her out again and all was good. Next morning same issue, nothing but crank. Tried it last night and it started again but when I tried a bit later nothing.

When I turn the key all seems and sounds normal, fuel pump cycles, all indicator lights come on and it cranks. I have spark. So here is what I tried with no success. I was wondering if there was a simple way to see if the injectors are spraying. Ugh.

By passed MSD box
Tried new coil
Tried new starter relay