Mustang Evolution Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok I will start by saying, i am no expert nor do I pretend to be. I own a 2004 3.8 v6 I'm getting check engine code, my cat is bad. I want louder sound plus im on a budget. so I'm wanting to have my friend who works at a muffler shop cut off all 4 and straight pipe. how do i go about "retunin
g" so I will not have the code plus get maximum gain from this mod. should I get a chip or take it to a shop or what?? my main concern is the car not running well, not the hp, which I know will not be a dramatic difference. btw no emissions where i live

Sent from my N800 using Mustang Evolution mobile app

· Registered
112 Posts
Correct me if I'm wrong but, removing the cats would mess up your oxygen sensors. So yes you would need one. You can buy a Bama tune cheap, and you can turn of the O2 sensors.

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks so bama tune does offer an option to retune your car with out cats and removes the code? Iv never done a tune and just want to make sure i dont mess anything up, im a worry wart

· Registered
112 Posts
Yes, american muscle is about the best place to get a can tune. To be 110% you can always go to their site and ask them. Also it makes a great first mod. Just make sure when their writing your tune to say I want my 02 sensors turned off. Note( make sure your state has no emission laws.) if they do have laws like the state of California you could get fined big time for breaking emission laws )

· Premium Member
7,399 Posts
Correct me if I'm wrong but, removing the cats would mess up your oxygen sensors. So yes you would need one. You can buy a Bama tune cheap, and you can turn of the O2 sensors.

It doesn't mess up your O2 sensors, they just read that there's no cats there and throw a CEL for catalytic efficiency low

· Tech Advisor
67 Posts