Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i got a call from a friend of mine today (he owns a junk yard of just old and new mustangs) and he had a new car come in today that has a five speed in it. He is going to let me get anything i need out of the car to do the conversion for 500 bucks. I was wondering if someone could write me up a list of the stuff i should get off the car. Ive searched but havent found a really good list of what i acutally need. Thanks.

·
Registered
4,272 Posts
i have never done one beforeb but off the top of my head,
tranny
driveshaft
shifter
flywheel, (auto's come with flexplate)
clutch assembly
clutch pedal
clutch quadrant/ cable
wiring harness
computer/ or better just a chip
cross member
vehicle speed sensor

·
Registered
47 Posts
BruThru2002 said:
i got a call from a friend of mine today (he owns a junk yard of just old and new mustangs) and he had a new car come in today that has a five speed in it. He is going to let me get anything i need out of the car to do the conversion for 500 bucks. I was wondering if someone could write me up a list of the stuff i should get off the car. Ive searched but havent found a really good list of what i acutally need. Thanks.
95 or newer T-5 transmission will work. If you've got a 99+ mustang, get a 99+ tranny to avoid speedo problems. I have a 97 based t-5, and I had to replace the tailshaft with 99+, and modify the output shaft with the ring gear type magnetic speedo sensor 99+ use.
bellhousing
clutch pressure plate/disk
clutch throwout fork
clutch throwout bearing
pilot bearing
clutch cable
clutch pedal assembly complete
interior clutch boot
interior clutch weather plate/seal
clutch shifter
clutch shifter knob
manual transmission cable assembly
Driveshaft? I went with a pre 99 aluminum driveshaft and it fit perfectly. I've seen where people used their automatic driveshafts, but had to change the input side yoke to fit the manual.