Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought the BAMA tuner and was really satisfied.....UNTIL... This weekend I realize my speedometer is off. The faster I go the further off it goes. Prolly not noticeable to people in the states because it took me going what I thought was 120mph but in reality it was only 104mph.


So Now b

---------- Post added at 02:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:43 PM ----------

So I tuned it back to stock and its fine. I'm sure you can see the problem with this. Now my question.... Is there any rational explanation to this. Because I'm pi$$ed off about it. Can anyone provide an explanation before I call BAMA....I feel screwed over.

---------- Post added at 02:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:45 PM ----------

I feel like the tuner is a huge scam because it just looks like your going faster. Your not actually. And if that's linked into the miles on my car then for every 100 mile I go I have an extra 15 on there. Gah!!!!
 

·
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
·
4,786 Posts
I'm sure you can either change the setting yourself or they could walk you through it. Guessing the wrong gear ratio is saved.

Shouldn't be a big deal to fix really, SCT tuners are no scam.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
Ya gear ratio or tire size needs to be changed in the tuner settings. Have you changed either? it is pretty simple to change yourself. U just go into the custom tune settings and toggle to gear ratio. It needs to match what you have in your car. Same goes for tire size. It might be in inches. If it is get a tape measure and measure the tire size from the ground to the top of the tire. You might need to converted it cm I cant remember. The writing on the side of the tire will not tell you exact. Measuring will.
 

·
AmericanMuscle.com
Joined
·
2,878 Posts
I bought the BAMA tuner and was really satisfied.....UNTIL... This weekend I realize my speedometer is off. The faster I go the further off it goes. Prolly not noticeable to people in the states because it took me going what I thought was 120mph but in reality it was only 104mph.


So Now b

---------- Post added at 02:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:43 PM ----------

So I tuned it back to stock and its fine. I'm sure you can see the problem with this. Now my question.... Is there any rational explanation to this. Because I'm pi$$ed off about it. Can anyone provide an explanation before I call BAMA....I feel screwed over.

---------- Post added at 02:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:45 PM ----------

I feel like the tuner is a huge scam because it just looks like your going faster. Your not actually. And if that's linked into the miles on my car then for every 100 mile I go I have an extra 15 on there. Gah!!!!
ashpow,

I'm sorry that you're having an issue with your device. These guys have definitely provided you with the proper information, we can adjust the speedometer for gears or tire size.

Did you mention when entering your tune information that you changed the gears or tire size? If you haven't changed either of these then your speedo may be off from the factory because we won't touch those settings unless you listed something. Our tunes are good 99% of the time. Occasionally there are errors because we hand write each tune. I'm confident my Bama team will fix it quickly! Majority of the time, its Small human error when filing your tune information form or by a Bama Member!

Shoot me a PM with your order # included & I'll have my head Tuning Specialist Mike Wilson contact you directly! I'm confident he'll get you squared away in just a few minutes.

We really appreciate your business and patience!

-Dan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
I gotta say I have had many tunes written for my old car from A/M and while most of the time they were not correct. Yes not correct, they did take care of it in a timely manner and even stayed late to figure it out. Most of my issues were tuning with an FRPP manifold and prior to that delete plates... but they did make an error on the gear ratio once too. Once it almost left me stranded but I had a backup tune from someone else that I wont mention the name of that got me home in another tuner I had bought for my car... Another time I was driving across country and needed tunes to vary for gas octane.. Got burned again and spent the night in another state I was not planning on stopping for just so they could get me a tune in the morning. Not trying to bash them at all as they did tune my car nice after they read the order a second, third time, forth time etc... and I was one out of 100 probably that had issues but it was a few times in a row...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
AMDanBailer said:
ashpow,

I'm sorry that you're having an issue with your device. These guys have definitely provided you with the proper information, we can adjust the speedometer for gears or tire size.

Did you mention when entering your tune information that you changed the gears or tire size? If you haven't changed either of these then your speedo may be off from the factory because we won't touch those settings unless you listed something. Our tunes are good 99% of the time. Occasionally there are errors because we hand write each tune. I'm confident my Bama team will fix it quickly! Majority of the time, its Small human error when filing your tune information form or by a Bama Member!

Shoot me a PM with your order # included & I'll have my head Tuning Specialist Mike Wilson contact you directly! I'm confident he'll get you squared away in just a few minutes.

We really appreciate your business and patience!

-Dan
Thank you Dan. I will send you the information when I get home. Thanks for your help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
223 Posts
It's not a scam lets say even if you don't believe that your car gained more hp ( talking a about my auto ) you can feel the different shifts in the tranny without a Doubt
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,714 Posts
TUNERS AND GEARS

Just to add-in on this, I also needed my "Tune" adjusted, when I changed my Stock Gears from 3.31 to 4.10s. And yes, my tire size is different also. So this is just things you have to do with cars, when you change things.:good:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
KATO said:
Just to add-in on this, I also needed my "Tune" adjusted, when I changed my Stock Gears from 3.31 to 4.10s. And yes, my tire size is different also. So this is just things you have to do with cars, when you change things.:good:
All my stuff is stock. I have the premium package but I told them my tire size when I ordered.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,714 Posts
All my stuff is stock. I have the premium package but I told them my tire size when I ordered.
I'm not at all sure why then, But I'm sure they will help you out with sorting what happened.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,798 Posts
Maybe it's possible that your tuned for having gears or wheels. I'd revert back to stock and re-upload the tune. And be sure to mark the correct gear ratio and stuff. If that doesn't work contact Bama. Problem with mail-order tunes is they aren't made specifically for your vehicle. Every car may react differently the tune. This is why so many people have problems with them. I'm sure they can fix the problem though. They do have great customer service.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,987 Posts
Since you didn't list where you were, are you by chance overseas? Could it be a tuner set for KM instead of MPH?

Otherwise, gears and tires or tires and gears.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top