Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
767 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have had my new Mustang for about 3 months, and I got my first ticket....I have been driving for 6 years, and have never gotten a ticket, until I got a Mustang.....

The cop got me for going 82 in a 70. I thought it was a 75, but the cop still wrote me up.
I want to appeal it since I have heard that the cop won't show up most of the time and the ticket gets dismissed, but if the cop does show up, where does it go from there? Like I said this is my first ticket so I don't know what to do.

Any help or advice will be great! (I live in Texas)

·
Registered
317 Posts
I'm with you, just got pulled over for the first time ever in my cobra. Same as you, 82 in a 65. Pissed me off. I wouldn't even try and fight it man, You're chances of winning are very low. Guess there is nothing to do except pay the ticket and take traffic school... I haul a$$ everywhere anyway, guess it was only a matter of time before i got one.

·
Registered
7,311 Posts
just go in...if they aren't there yay...if they are just claim you though you were cruising at 75 and ask for school since it's a first offense...honestly i hope i don't join you guys lol. i've been driving for 8 years with no tickets. i'd like to keep it that way

·
Registered
118 Posts
In ny state u can go to court plea not guilty and they will set u up on a pretrial meeting with the DA and tell them ur what happen and they will knock ur ticket down to something different it happen to me in july

·
Registered
124 Posts
I used to live in Texas(Harris county). Stick to your plan. It also helps to reset your court date a few times which increases the chance of a no show. If all else fails and he shows up as for deferred adjudication (basically its like parole for 90 days were you can't get "convicted" of another crime and charges get dropped. Or just lawyer up and they will take care of you.

·
Registered
767 Posts
Discussion Starter #8