Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The first thing I was wondering about:

If someone could explain what exactly a "tune" and "ghost cam" is for my car. When I've looked up ghost cam on YouTube it sounds pretty bad ***. Could someone give me some information of if I could even get it for my 2014 v6 with everything stock besides the axle backs so far. Also where or how much it would cost, I live in Wisconsin.

The next question I have is a exhaust related question:

I currently have Pypes Pype Bomb Axle backs and they sound amazing, but I still want a stronger note. I'm no mechanic so I don't know really the difference between long and short tube headers or which i'm eligible for, maybe both? Anyways I was considering purchasing one of the following BBK OFF-ROAD X-PIPE, BBK CHROME TUNED LENGTH SHORTY HEADERS, or FORD RACING CUT AND CLAMP X-PIPE. I have no idea which would sound better with my current axle backs and not sound like trash, so looking for some insight from people more knowledgeable.

(P.S. if you have a better tip on what I should do to my exhaust next within the same price range please let me know.)

·
Registered
1,166 Posts
You'll have to have a SCT hand held tuner, then buy a ghost cam tune from MPT. You can be 100% stock and have a ghost cam tune :) This is my Mustang with long tube headers and a catted x pipe with magnaflow street axlebacks. https://youtu.be/RbJXEhMfJRY

·
Registered
737 Posts
You'll want to have an off-road mid pipe for a cam tune, otherwise you'll ruin the cats.

X pipe sounds ricey, H pipe has a deeper tone which you said you were looking for.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
78 Posts
Actually MPT has a new ghost cam tune that's apparently safe for cats, however I wouldn't recommend it for your daily driving tune. I'm planning to get it myself but I would only use it at shows.

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

·
Registered
737 Posts