Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,029 Posts
If its for your model car, then relatively easy if you're good at putting things together. It's basically remove old. Take pictures (lots). And put back together and it should go in the same way. I have no experience changing shifters so don't take my word for it

·
Registered
79 Posts
Shifters can be a little bit tricky. They aren't that hard to put in but afterwards you have to make some adjustment to make sure you can get to every gear

·
Registered
370 Posts
As long as you have basic mechanic skills it shouldn't be too hard. The one thing I have learned from reading about other people installing shifters is the O/D button is a bit of a pain to install into the new shifter.

·
Registered
2,029 Posts
As long as you have basic mechanic skills it shouldn't be too hard. The one thing I have learned from reading about other people installing shifters is the O/D button is a bit of a pain to install into the new shifter.
Oh yeah, those damn OD buttons. I wanted to see how hard it was to replace a shifter, so I went to the salvage yard and found a mustang. Tried to take off the shifter and made a mess with it. I recommend practicing on a junked mustang first so you can get a feel for how it's gonna be and you won't go into your project blind.

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
I don't know if it is a lot different than replacing a shifter for a manual car. But I put a short shifter in mine and it was very easy. First time. About an hour of removing old parts and some YouTube videos for instal lol then got it all together.
Simple for mine just unbolt and then re-bolt lol

·
Registered
2,029 Posts
Doubt it. The shifter sits on top of the tranny. Haha unless you want to replace your tranny then you're good just sittin inside the car :D

·
Registered
1,298 Posts
IMO I wouldn't do it with a v6 that is stock

·
Premium Member
26,052 Posts