Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I am a Newbie. I own a 2001 Bullitt GT #2172. Any recommendations for increasing my MPG? If so, what realistically MPG can I get from city/highway?

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
Is this car bone stock

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 07:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:10 PM ----------

And which is it a bullit or a gt

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
U will see little increases by upgrading the exhaust, intake, tune, and doing the normal maintenance. But the biggest thing to improve your mpg is drive like a grandma

·
Registered
8,483 Posts
Hello everyone,
I am a Newbie. I own a 2001 Bullitt GT #2172. Any recommendations for increasing my MPG? If so, what realistically MPG can I get from city/highway?
One of my Bullitts is #2117.
I think that the original window sticker claimed 18/26 mpg. That's pretty close to what you can expect. My all time high, on the freeway, is 27 mpg, averaged over several tanks of gas, on a round trip.
You can achieve those numbers if the car is tuned properly and if you just drive the car normally, but if you get into the throttle often, the miles per gallon will drop accordingly.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Jenco: This is my first Mustang. It is a 2001 Bullitt with a GT on the sides. I bought it about a month ago and I apologize that I'm not sure of all the upgrades. What I know is that it has off road pipes (standard pipes are in my garage),Diablo chip and suspension upgrade.
Bought from a guy who had two of them.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Superdrift: Yea, the grandma driving is what I thought. My wife already says I drive that way....

·
Premium Member
6,857 Posts
Or maybe putting taller gears in the rear might help MPG.

Pick your poison.

·
Registered
1,069 Posts