Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
676 Posts
umm correct me if i'm wrong but i've allways been told that we are SOHC which means we have 2 cam's total one on each side right? because DOHC have 4 total 2 on each side.

this is what i have been told if i'm wrong correct me i'm still learning

·
Banned
11,872 Posts
timpryor said:
umm correct me if i'm wrong but i've allways been told that we are SOHC which means we have 2 cam's total one on each side right? because DOHC have 4 total 2 on each side.

We have one cam. (1) Uno

:lol:

Cobra cam will not fit. Only a cam grinded for a v6 will. Check with RGR about a cam

·
Registered
676 Posts
see this is what i get for listening to my friends

so ours is in the center of the block right?

whereas DOHC vehicles are 2 on each side?

·
Registered
941 Posts
moving to v6 tech...

v6 is "pushrod" (old school). one cam in the center that pushes up the pushrods that tilt the rockers that move the valves.

gt is single overhead cam (SOHC) meaning one cam is situated above each head.

cobra is same but DOHC, just more cams.

look at the bright side, sohc and dohc'ers regularly spend 450-650 for just the cams themselves. a custom ground pushrod cam willl only run us about 200 for the cam itself. this is why the 2005 OHC will not be worth modifying at all because it'll be so bloody expensive (as if modding a v6 is wroth it, anyways. :p )

that being said, a cam on a 99+ isn't a bad way to go. expect to shell out about 400 though minus the install. good for 15rwhp+. contact RGR and he will send you a questionarre to fill out.

austin

·
Premium Member
26,052 Posts
:wtf2: you have one cam, good old tech pushrod cheaper and easier to work on :)

·
Premium Member
1,461 Posts
timpryor said: