Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to 5 spd performance and i was just wondering what gains i will see with i new clutch, i dont mean hp but what benefits will i get out of a performance clutch? and will i see any benefits on a mostly stock car?

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
Basically you can get a beefeir clutch for more clamping force to the flywheel.usually requires more effort too.... I wouldn't be worried about the clutch till you need to replace it but i would say get a short throw shifter, clutch quadrant, etc. I think Horse has a steeda quadrent hes trying to sell.

·
Premium Member
26,052 Posts
the ability to NOT be able to feather the clutch (alot of spin) lol if your clutch is not slipping then you should not worry about it, if you get a really stiff clutch you wont be able to feather it to take off so you will wind up "dumping it" and having alot more spin/alot less control over the clutch as it engages.

·
Premium Member
1,177 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
three stupid questions im sure. 1) what is a clutch quadrant? 2) what is a throw bearing? and three what good does this do?

QUOTE=SpectorV]the ability to NOT be able to feather the clutch (alot of spin) lol if your clutch is not slipping then you should not worry about it, if you get a really stiff clutch you wont be able to feather it to take off so you will wind up "dumping it" and having alot more spin/alot less control over the clutch as it engages.[/QUOTE]

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
The clutch quadrant is more for a heavy duty clutch, The stock ones are plastic, and after a while they bend causing inconsistant clutch engagement/ missed shifts. Just a little insurance if you get a heavy duty clutch or like to shift hard.
The throw out bearing pushess on the "fingers" of the pressure plate causing the clutch to dis-engage.

·
Premium Member
26,052 Posts