Mustang Evolution Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the mustang forums as well as a 1st time mustang owners....just got ahold of a 97 cobra, and just wanted to get a feeler on just how many ppl on these forums have a cobra of similar year to possibly swap knowledge on?!?!?

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well shes got 134k in the odo right now, plan on doin upgrading the rear end as well as a coilover setup,replace the stock clutch and shifter,maybe change the rims out, then wait till she takes a dump,and then dive into building something really fun

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yeah, but everyone knows that,plans never really work out the way we expect lol....i have a suspicion on my rear end......besides pullung the cover and checking myself, is there any other easier way to determine gearing?

·
Registered
529 Posts
A shifter is a must on these cars, the stock one is garbage and doesn't have any stops to protect the tranny. To check the rear end gearing, put the car in the air and see how many times the driveshaft spins for a single wheel rotation. Welcome the to the club btw!

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Yah, ive kinda been figuring that one out the hard way.....synchros are good, but really notchy unless you pull of constant perfect shifts.....,it kinda freaked me out at first when I would shift you would hear like a hard metallic click, easy way to explain would be if you leave the shifter in neutral and pull it left and tap it, youll hear the same sound....didnt think it was normal but my b/f talked his friend into letting me drive his cobra and it did the same thing......idk im lost, ive had a few different clutch types and transmissions in my evos bu never have I come across this, any ideas?

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·