Mustang Evolution Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ordered my pulley and belt today... making plans now for the install.

Other than snapping the bolt, has anyone run across other "gotcha's" that I should be aware of?

Right now, I plan on following the play-by-play as shown on the mirracerros website. Has anyone found any flaws with these instructions?

I assume that the destructions for a 2000 should be basically the same for an '01, right? I know the part is different because, Ford in their infinite wisdom likes to change things mid-production... but is the installation basically the same?

geez... you'd think i've never done this before.... well, it has been about 15 years since i did this last. and that was on a chevy... ahh, the good ol' days. :wtf:

·
Registered
930 Posts
as far as i know it should work on your car, but no promises. what length belt do you have. most run 96" belts but i have a 96.6" belt with no problems.

·
Premium Member
1,294 Posts
Longer bolt is very very important. Also on my AODE I had to wedge a breaker bar into the pulley to keep it from spinning while I cranked on the main bolt that holds it in place.

·
Registered
404 Posts
The 2001's and up are internally balanced, doesn't that mean they don't have the dampener the same as the early 2000's and older?

·
Registered
404 Posts
Gotcha, that's why mine has the raised part and the new ones don't. I thought that raised part WAS the dampener.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
V6PowerStang said:
as far as i know it should work on your car, but no promises. what length belt do you have. most run 96" belts but i have a 96.6" belt with no problems.
It's coming with a 96.8" belt.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
99vert said:
Longer bolt is very very important. Also on my AODE I had to wedge a breaker bar into the pulley to keep it from spinning while I cranked on the main bolt that holds it in place.