Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys im new to this so bare with me. My 03' v6 vert's spedometer only goes to 120 is there any way i could get a different gauge that allows my spedometer to go to 150 ( like the gt's) with the help of a fordchip. If this is all just ridiculus then just tell me. Would that just blow or destroy my engine?

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
You could put a GT speedo cluster in there, and have the computer programmed for that, but your factory speed limiter is about 118-120 MPH, so you would probably want that removed/ rasied also. are you just wanting this for looks? or do you intend on 120+ speeds:confused:

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
looks is a big part of it thou. and like if its not possible to even get up to 130 then forget it b/c ive seen how long it takes to change gauges

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
Im sure it would do 130 with a chip. I don't know. I've hit the speed limiter in mine, and that was plenty fast for me(for now):lol:

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
what do you mean the problem... i thought all you needed was a tuned chip
are the gauges that easy.. i cause then i might do it just for looks

·
You want to **** me?
4,043 Posts
gauges that go to 150 have different redlines than our lil sixers... its not worth gettin a new guage, if youre above 120mph you shouldnt be lookin at your guages anyway lol

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
ZimStang said:
gauges that go to 150 have different redlines than our lil sixers... its not worth gettin a new guage, if youre above 120mph you shouldnt be lookin at your guages anyway lol
Forgot the tach was different, and your right...should be watchin the road:eek:

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
what year car do you have? if you have a 99+, then you can turn the digital odometer into a digital speedometer by holding on the reset button during start-up (i think thats it. look on www.mustangworld.com)

·