Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok Ive had my car for almost a year and have been taking it to jiffy lube to get the oil changed because I have been short on time and the weather last winter was horrible. Now I've decided to start changing it on my own but I have never done this before and was looking for some help. I am thinking of going with Mobil 1 5w30 but what else do I need to buy other than a filter ? Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated :D

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
for the first time, a drain pan and a funnel. thats it though.

i would suggest 10w30 though instead of 5w30. just my opinion though.

all you do is remove the drain plug, let the oil drain. change filter, put darin plug back in, pour new oil in.

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
Sil\/erSpeed said:
if you cant find the oil plug, get a manual (haynes, chiltons etc...) they are very good for that type thing.
Ditto. For the simple jobs, Chiltons or Haynes manuals are great.

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
Rellik said:
Sil\/erSpeed said:
if you cant find the oil plug, get a manual (haynes, chiltons etc...) they are very good for that type thing.
Ditto. For the simple jobs, Chiltons or Haynes manuals are great.
heck, i still use mine when taking apart the engine or doing a drivetrain swap. they completly tore apart a car and it had a lot of good info in them

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Monkey said:
heck, i still use mine when taking apart the engine or doing a drivetrain swap. they completly tore apart a car and it had a lot of good info in them
Is that the Chilton or the Hayes that you are talking about monkey ?

·
Premium Member
3,263 Posts
Monkey said:
for the first time, a drain pan and a funnel. thats it though.

i would suggest 10w30 though instead of 5w30. just my opinion though.

all you do is remove the drain plug, let the oil drain. change filter, put darin plug back in, pour new oil in.