Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2011 mustang gt 5.0. I recently bought a sct tuner, when I tried to install a custom tune with the 93 octane it does program. But after its finished it cuts my car down. After about ten seconds I have zero throttle response car still runs but at a very low idle of about 300 rpm. It will not move after that at all gas pedal will not work at all. Please help any suggestions :confused:
 

·
It's not me, it's you.
Joined
·
6,752 Posts
Jsmorley81 said:
I have a 2011 mustang gt 5.0. I recently bought a sct tuner, when I tried to install a custom tune with the 93 octane it does program. But after its finished it cuts my car down. After about ten seconds I have zero throttle response car still runs but at a very low idle of about 300 rpm. It will not move after that at all gas pedal will not work at all. Please help any suggestions :confused:
Reinstall stock tune and call the company who wrote your tune. Did you just add the tuner or did you buy an intake or something that required a tune?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's. Of a tune from a company sorry I forgot to say that. It will program the factory tune it came with but I was trying to put the adjust options on it, but nothing will work just very confused on how to work it. It does really come with a complete break down of instructions and cannot find anything on the net
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
primer2tone said:
Where did you get it from? Do you have a link?
I bought it new from a store here locally. It will not let make adjustment to it, like rpm, rev limiter, octane, so fourth. When I do, it will complete the tune. But then my mustang has no throttle at all, I mean I can not move an inch will not rev up or anything. I then have to return it to stock and then it runs fine. I can download the regular tune that's on it but cannot make any adjustments at all
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
primer2tone said:
Reinstall stock tune and call the company who wrote your tune. Did you just add the tuner or did you buy an intake or something that required a tune?
It's a stock mustang but does have a different exhaust I'm totally lost here. I read a lot of forums where people say they all come with tunes and then you can buy custom tunes from buma or steeds. I've orderd some but still would like to know why I can not put in any adjustments like rev, speed, octane, etc......syne one of those tunes is making my car shutdown like that but I don't know. I haven't read any post of this happening to anyone else. Frustrated.......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,889 Posts
I don't think u can randomly tune any Mustang with just any tuner... When writing tunes specifically for YOUR car, whoever writes your tunes needs the correct number that are on your ecu... I'm guess that's your issue
 

·
It's not me, it's you.
Joined
·
6,752 Posts
It sounds like something is wrong with that tune. It may have not been written properly. I don't quite understand how you would be able to adjust things like, red line and speed governor. I've got an SCT FX3 from AM tunes by BAMA and I told them what I wanted and they programmed it. So I just upload and I'm done. You definitely gotta learn all aspects of tuning before you try to make changes on your own. I wish I could be better help but that's all I've got man.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
primer2tone said:
It sounds like something is wrong with that tune. It may have not been written properly. I don't quite understand how you would be able to adjust things like, red line and speed governor. I've got an SCT FX3 from AM tunes by BAMA and I told them what I wanted and they programmed it. So I just upload and I'm done. You definitely gotta learn all aspects of tuning before you try to make changes on your own. I wish I could be better help but that's all I've got man.
Ok thank you start with. And from what I seeing is that if you buy a tuner that foes not have any custom tunes down loaded on it from a shop then that means that it does not come with any tunes you can load on your car. Unless you buy a custom tune from somewhere then down load it to your tuner then to your car. Mine is blank with no tunes on it. I did buy 3 custom tunes from bama but have not got them yet. Should I return it to stock and then wait up install a tune after I recive it from bama.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
903 Posts
Man you need it to be tuned for the car specific.I mean the ecm has 4 number letter combo on it.You don't want to just walk in a place and buy something. If you need somebody to talk to I will be up about 30 minutes.Or tomorrow.I am no guru but can help you probably with what you need to do and not without wasting money.Just need more info. PM me and I send you mt number or whatever you want to do.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
350 Posts
absolutely, return to stock, idle relearn and wait for the tunes to arrive via email. usually takes a couple days after ordering. I would go to SCT website, locate your model tuner, and install the updated computer programming software that keeps your device up to date. Do this before you download the new tunes onto your device. Good luck!! Let us know how it works out..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
903 Posts
Yeah be careful.....You can loose your stock tune.Also if there is a problem you could brick your ECM. Always return to stock before doing any updates or downloading new tunes!
 

·
It's not me, it's you.
Joined
·
6,752 Posts
I'm surprised the tuner let you do anything? When I received my tuner from AM they mistakenly sent me the wrong tuner and when I tried to upload the tunes I'd get as far as turning the ignition on then it would prompt me to turn the key off and contact SCT with an error code.
 

·
AmericanMuscle.com
Joined
·
2,878 Posts
I have a 2011 mustang gt 5.0. I recently bought a sct tuner, when I tried to install a custom tune with the 93 octane it does program. But after its finished it cuts my car down. After about ten seconds I have zero throttle response car still runs but at a very low idle of about 300 rpm. It will not move after that at all gas pedal will not work at all. Please help any suggestions :confused:
Ok thank you start with. And from what I seeing is that if you buy a tuner that foes not have any custom tunes down loaded on it from a shop then that means that it does not come with any tunes you can load on your car. Unless you buy a custom tune from somewhere then down load it to your tuner then to your car. Mine is blank with no tunes on it. I did buy 3 custom tunes from bama but have not got them yet. Should I return it to stock and then wait up install a tune after I recive it from bama.
Jsmorley,

This sounds very odd, You could try giving the shop you got the tuner from a call and see if they can trouble shoot for you. In the mean time shoot me a PM with your order number so I can have Bama rush your tune's so you can get back on the road!

I'm confident you won't have this issue with our tunes, unless its related to the device its self.

I hope this helps, Let me know if you have any questions! Thanks for buying into our free tunes for life program, we really appreciate your business. Our Bama Performance tuning specialists are here in the building Monday-Friday from 9AM-5:30PM EST and Saturday 9AM-5:30PM EST. You can hit them up directly at 888.226.9764 and they'll get you squared away!

-Dan
 

·
Pete Jones
Joined
·
781 Posts
I actually lknow a guy that has been having issues with his sct since the firmware update and sct isn't being very helpful, he's started a Facebook page
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
90mustangLX said:
I actually lknow a guy that has been having issues with his sct since the firmware update and sct isn't being very helpful, he's started a Facebook page
Great guy by the way he really helped me out. I recommend anyone with tuner problems to get on his face book page or YouTube page
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
350 Posts
AMDanBailer said:
Jsmorley,

This sounds very odd, You could try giving the shop you got the tuner from a call and see if they can trouble shoot for you. In the mean time shoot me a PM with your order number so I can have Bama rush your tune's so you can get back on the road!

I'm confident you won't have this issue with our tunes, unless its related to the device its self.

I hope this helps, Let me know if you have any questions! Thanks for buying into our free tunes for life program, we really appreciate your business. Our Bama Performance tuning specialists are here in the building Monday-Friday from 9AM-5:30PM EST and Saturday 9AM-5:30PM EST. You can hit them up directly at 888.226.9764 and they'll get you squared away!

-Dan
Sorry to intrude, but Dan, Mike has still not got back with me on my 93series tune issues. I'm still running my 91 tune with CEL for O2 sensors, which is annoying, but im trying to contain myself from emailing and calling too much. I think hes forgotten about me, lol. Help
 

·
AmericanMuscle.com
Joined
·
2,878 Posts
Sorry to intrude, but Dan, Mike has still not got back with me on my 93series tune issues. I'm still running my 91 tune with CEL for O2 sensors, which is annoying, but im trying to contain myself from emailing and calling too much. I think hes forgotten about me, lol. Help
2013_Stang,

Hey Jeff,

I just looked into this for you and it looks like Mike reached out to you and left a few messages with no response. So he made some revisions to your file without speaking to you and sent them to your email on 9/24/2012.

Just to insure that your squared away I'm going to have Mike contact you again this afternoon. Can you PM me your phone number just to make sure that there was not a mix up or incorrect number in our order manager?

I appreciate your patience!

-Dan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
721 Posts
Sct was very helpful with me... My tuner wasnt reading my car when i would plug it in... Thankfully i was stock... I sent my tuner to them and the updated and fixed it all up and tey sent it back to me within a week... Bama also has amazing service... Very helpful techs and great attitude... Bama is awesome
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
350 Posts
Finally got my 93 race tunw working properly. Come to find out my car was not tuned for the airaid even though i put it on the list as a mod, so with the 93 it was discovered by removing the insert tube in the Airaid CAI main tube. Apparantly, this part restricts air more thus allowing the CAI to be installed without a tune. ****, i bought the CAI, the BOSS IM, and the tuner together. Why wouldnt my first tune be programmed for full potential of the CAI? I had no idea, nor was i told that i had to remove this tube insert. Three weeks later. Problem resolved. Is this something i was supposed to know about CAI's? Anyways, car runs great with the 93R tune loaded. Thanks to Dan with American Muscle, and Mike on the Bama side of the house.
 
1 - 20 of 29 Posts
Top