Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not a mechanic. In fact I am a Nurse. What tools other than basic hand tools will I need to install this? Is it difficult in the sense that I would need a mechanic? I am thinking about tackling this with my buddy who is also not a mechanic but a Paramedic. I have basic mechanical knowledge to work on most things. Any info is greatly appreciated...

·
Registered
177 Posts
I have no help for you.....other then the "at least if you hurt your self you will be able to fix it" remark! Lol...

But at least this will get you post up to the top! Good luck

·
Registered
51 Posts
MDoane44 said:
I am not a mechanic. In fact I am a Nurse. What tools other than basic hand tools will I need to install this? Is it difficult in the sense that I would need a mechanic? I am thinking about tackling this with my buddy who is also not a mechanic but a Paramedic. I have basic mechanical knowledge to work on most things. Any info is greatly appreciated...
I wouldn't recommend you and your friend doing this if your not mechanically accustomed to suspension work.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i was reading earlier about how to do it and it seems pretty straight forward. I just wanted to see if anyone has tips or if i need any special tools...

·
Registered
598 Posts
Basic hand tools pretty well covers what you need. I'd make sure to have a torque wrench so you torque the bolts correctly. Since you are going with coilovers, a spring compressor isn't really needed as you won't need to disassemble the front strut & spring assembly. Just take your time & pay attention to what you are doing--and read the instructions.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
AM just told me on the phone that I need a spring compressor or I could get hurt doing this? Does that sound right? All the instructions I have viewed online dont even mention the Spring Compressor tool...

·
Registered