Mustang Evolution Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
maybe because i have the x-pipe is why my flows dont get ricey. . they just seem loud and deep all the time.

·
Registered
21 Posts

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
Remember guys, one possible explination for the flowmasters getting ricy, could very well be the source of the claim. For example. I hear a lot of people with 99+'s say that they love flows. Wheras most of the complaints for the ricy flomasters are coming from the pre99 crowd.

The explination may very well be the fact that 94-98 mustangs have header style exhaust, whereas 99+'s have an exhaust manifold.

I'm not an expert, but I'm tending to believe that on pre99's the sound is worse than on the manifolded 99+'s.

Some people would say thats bull. But think about it... the headers and exhaust manifold handle exhaust in a very different style. Different components, usually means different outcomes.

It's just a theory. :idea:

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
Doubt its the headers. they flow pretty much the same just look different.

I got flows and love them, not ricey at all.

If its anything its the camshaft. 94-98's have a meaner cam than 99+.
But i dont think there is that big of a difference between years pertaining to the sound of flows. Evertime i hear them i love them.
Its just certain people's opinions. Some people are to damn opinionative.

·
Registered
29 Posts
I think the most overlooked aspect is piping diameter. If you go to large any muffler is going to sound raspy and ricey H or X pipe or not. My MACs stay deep and just seem to rumble...at WOT they simply growl. I had RAVEN mufflers on my 4.3L Vortec in my '94 Chevy 1500 and that was the loudest damned trcuk in all of San Antonio! Sounded good though....miss that truck....don't know why I added that...what was I saying? shouldn't post at 3am...gotta go to bed :oops:

·
Premium Member
5,187 Posts